Vegetarian Southwest One-Pot Dinner Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I used one can of black-eye peas, one can of black beans and 32 oz can of tomatoes. Served rice on the side and extra cheese and sour cream. Everyone loved it, even me although I'm not fond of beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
LOVED this yummy, easy recipe. I took everyone's advice and ended up substituting the black-eyed peas for black beans. I also did not add the rice or cheese to the mix and simply put them in each separate bowl. AND, my husband recommended nixing the chili powder and using chopped green chillies instead - great idea! I am not a cook and actually quite despise food prep, and this recipe was easy, tasty, healthy (even bought organic veggies), and a definite winnder for our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Confession: I didn't read the recipe thoroughly enough. I accidentally started with Black Beans rather than Black eyed peas. By the time I realized, it was too late. I liked the recipe overall but made some changes to it, so here's what I did: Besides using black beans, the only other change I made was that I didn't have green peppers, but I'm sure they would've been delicious! Next time I'll add more onion. I used 1 med. onion and it wasn't enough. I also added about a cup of chicken broth, since so many reviews said it was too dry. Probably not necessary, as mine was slightly soupy, but made reheating easier. Make sure to SOAK the beans and COOK the rice like the recipe calls for. Most of the bad reviewers, it seems, forgot to do this. I cooked this much longer than the recipe called for too-- about 8 hours on low (again, I hadn't thoroughly read the recipe before starting, and I'd planned on a long, slow-cooked meal). This timing was perfect: beans were done, but not mush. It filled my 4 Quart slow cooker practically to the brim. So I didn't fully follow the recipe, but it was very tasty, and I'll likely make again-- next time I'll just read it more thoroughly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
This is a big hit with my kiddos. I use caned peas as well but I drain them and the corn but not the tomatoes. I started making it when one of my kids gave up meat for Lent so they like the recipe as is, but generally I add cubed chicken breast and let it cook done before adding the rice and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Beth Engle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
Do not use the dry variety beans. Must use canned beans or it turns out too dry. do not drain tomatoes or corn. Other than that a great fast and easy dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
This was wonderful! I'm not a vegetarian, but wow, this was good. I can't eat much of it though with low blood sugar issues... too many carbs for me, but my mouth waters sitting down to even a little bit of it. I changed a couple things: used fresh tomatoes instead of canned, and canned beans, not draining them. Also, I excluded the cheese altogether and then when served, added sour cream, a few fresh tomatoes and avocado. Voila! Yummy. My hubby is SO not a vegetarian and so I put cooked sausage in it for him and he loved it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
This has now become a staple for meatless monday, don't worry if you forgot to soak your beans overnight - you're going to cook them all day anyway - I add 5 cups of water and use dry beans and then add a cup of dry brown rice about 2 hours before serving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I agree with other reviews ... Use canned beans and do not drain liquids. I also added a can of chopped chilies. I found that it was not cooking enough in my slow cooker after two hours so I transferred it to a large pot on the stove. It came out great! I also used more than 1/2 c of cheese ... Gooey and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
This recipe turned out great! My 3-year-old, 1-year-old, husband and mother-in-law all ate it enthusiastically! I did take some of the suggestions...after soaking beans for 6 hours, I still added 2 cups of broth and 2 cups of water...it had plenty of liquid this way...maybe could have used a bit less. I also (for my husband mainly, and to use up some freezer items) added some chorizo sausage and let it cook in the crock pot with the other ingredients...on low for 6 hours. This could be a very versatile recipe, adding other vegetables or beans. We ate it with corn bread and it was SO yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
I followed the recipe pretty closely but put it in the slowcooker on the lowest setting for 10 hours, and added 3 cups of boiling water at the start. That may have been a little too much water, I would probably try 2 - 2 1/2 cups next time. I thought it was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Meatless Stuffed Peppers

Peppers are filled with rice, veggies, and feta cheese.

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

See how to make a hearty vegetarian main course.

Vegetarian Korma

This easy vegetarian Indian dish is rich, creamy and mildly spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States