Vegetarian Southwest One-Pot Dinner Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
This recipe is missing the liquids needed to cook dried beans. You need at least 2 1/2 cups of liquid for 1 cup of beans. I didn't drain the corn and added 2 cups of veg broth and 2 cups of water. I topped with grated cheddar. It turned out like a cousin of chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Very good taste, thick like chili. I also used canned (two) blacked eye peas, and did not drain them, the tomatoes, or the corn. I also sprinkled the cheese on top before serving instead of mixing it in, and used a little sour cream at the table. My husband really liked it, even though he is skeptical of vegetarian dishes! A word to future cooks: I was scared by 1/4 cup of chili powder. I started with 1/8 cup, but it was a little bland, so I added more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wauconda, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
Do not use the dry variety beans. Must use canned beans or it turns out too dry. do not drain tomatoes or corn. Other than that a great fast and easy dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
This has now become a staple for meatless monday, don't worry if you forgot to soak your beans overnight - you're going to cook them all day anyway - I add 5 cups of water and use dry beans and then add a cup of dry brown rice about 2 hours before serving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
This was wonderful! I'm not a vegetarian, but wow, this was good. I can't eat much of it though with low blood sugar issues... too many carbs for me, but my mouth waters sitting down to even a little bit of it. I changed a couple things: used fresh tomatoes instead of canned, and canned beans, not draining them. Also, I excluded the cheese altogether and then when served, added sour cream, a few fresh tomatoes and avocado. Voila! Yummy. My hubby is SO not a vegetarian and so I put cooked sausage in it for him and he loved it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
This recipe really...flopped for me. I'm so sorry but there is something totally missing here. And it is the liquids. I love cooking beans in a slow cooker. But when you have to cook beans for nearly 22 hours, there is something totally wrong with the way a recipe is written. And to start this recipe by extra 12 hours ahead too because of a bean soak. You shouldn't have to go to so much trouble. I started this a bean soak on a Monday night before going to bed about 8. Following morning put everything together about 9am, by 11:30am smelling good, but beans are crunchy. 2pm, same deal, by 4pm, still flustered...by 6pm adding a 28 crushed tomatoes(only to see that the can is mismarked and it's actually tomato sauce) by 8pm adding 2 cups of water and then at 11:30pm adding another 2 cups of water and beans are partly crunchy with some, stightly soft on others. I was at the point of not wanting to get up every couple of hours to check on the status, I went to bed. By 7:30am now Wed morning. The batch looks like mushed chili, still smells good, tastes ok beans are firm but soft....the over all batch isn't that appealing and if I decided to add rice and cheddar, it's going to look like glop. I'm not overally pleased with the outcome because of the shear frustration of the amount of time to get this recipe complete. I went back and looked and talked to others over my frustration and this recipe needs more water to do as the author states. I won't be making this again. I'm sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
I thought that this recipe was good. Not fantastic, but a good meal. I didn't put the rice in, makes it more like a stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah D

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pierre, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
This recipe turned out great! My 3-year-old, 1-year-old, husband and mother-in-law all ate it enthusiastically! I did take some of the suggestions...after soaking beans for 6 hours, I still added 2 cups of broth and 2 cups of water...it had plenty of liquid this way...maybe could have used a bit less. I also (for my husband mainly, and to use up some freezer items) added some chorizo sausage and let it cook in the crock pot with the other ingredients...on low for 6 hours. This could be a very versatile recipe, adding other vegetables or beans. We ate it with corn bread and it was SO yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
This is really good served with sour cream at the table. I was skeptical about only cooking the beans for 2 hours and little amount of liquid. I will try this again, but cook longer, even the onions still had some crunch to them and I do not usually expect that with this type of recipe. The flavor was really good though, so I just think it needs to be tweaked in terms of liquid amount and time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aa911911

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
LOVED this yummy, easy recipe. I took everyone's advice and ended up substituting the black-eyed peas for black beans. I also did not add the rice or cheese to the mix and simply put them in each separate bowl. AND, my husband recommended nixing the chili powder and using chopped green chillies instead - great idea! I am not a cook and actually quite despise food prep, and this recipe was easy, tasty, healthy (even bought organic veggies), and a definite winnder for our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Meatless Stuffed Peppers

Peppers are filled with rice, veggies, and feta cheese.

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

See how to make a hearty vegetarian main course.

Southwestern Potato and Corn Salad Dinner

This tasty veggie-centric meal only tastes expensive!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States