Vegetarian Southwest One-Pot Dinner Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
This recipe is missing the liquids needed to cook dried beans. You need at least 2 1/2 cups of liquid for 1 cup of beans. I didn't drain the corn and added 2 cups of veg broth and 2 cups of water. I topped with grated cheddar. It turned out like a cousin of chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
Do not use the dry variety beans. Must use canned beans or it turns out too dry. do not drain tomatoes or corn. Other than that a great fast and easy dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
I thought that this recipe was good. Not fantastic, but a good meal. I didn't put the rice in, makes it more like a stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah D

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pierre, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Yummy, fresh-tasting, and simple. I used a large can of black-eyed peas (rinsed to eliminate some of the salt, etc), didn't drain tomotoes or creamed corn, and the consistency was fine. Thanks for a simple, meatless recipe with protein!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Very good taste, thick like chili. I also used canned (two) blacked eye peas, and did not drain them, the tomatoes, or the corn. I also sprinkled the cheese on top before serving instead of mixing it in, and used a little sour cream at the table. My husband really liked it, even though he is skeptical of vegetarian dishes! A word to future cooks: I was scared by 1/4 cup of chili powder. I started with 1/8 cup, but it was a little bland, so I added more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wauconda, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
This is really good served with sour cream at the table. I was skeptical about only cooking the beans for 2 hours and little amount of liquid. I will try this again, but cook longer, even the onions still had some crunch to them and I do not usually expect that with this type of recipe. The flavor was really good though, so I just think it needs to be tweaked in terms of liquid amount and time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soncea Braden-McCann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
This was wonderful! I'm not a vegetarian, but wow, this was good. I can't eat much of it though with low blood sugar issues... too many carbs for me, but my mouth waters sitting down to even a little bit of it. I changed a couple things: used fresh tomatoes instead of canned, and canned beans, not draining them. Also, I excluded the cheese altogether and then when served, added sour cream, a few fresh tomatoes and avocado. Voila! Yummy. My hubby is SO not a vegetarian and so I put cooked sausage in it for him and he loved it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
I followed the recipe pretty closely but put it in the slowcooker on the lowest setting for 10 hours, and added 3 cups of boiling water at the start. That may have been a little too much water, I would probably try 2 - 2 1/2 cups next time. I thought it was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
This has now become a staple for meatless monday, don't worry if you forgot to soak your beans overnight - you're going to cook them all day anyway - I add 5 cups of water and use dry beans and then add a cup of dry brown rice about 2 hours before serving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
I used canned black beans instead of the dry black-eyed peas. We all really enjoyed it. My 2-year-old event ate it! We took the earlier tip and also served it with sour cream and sliced avacado and ate it with some tortillas. My wife and son sprinked additional cheese on top. It was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Meatless Stuffed Peppers

Peppers are filled with rice, veggies, and feta cheese.

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

See how to make a hearty vegetarian main course.

Vegetarian Korma

This easy vegetarian Indian dish is rich, creamy and mildly spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States