Vegetarian Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I have and it was good, I had to replace with sugar as I didn't have any honey or brown sugar, made it a bit sweet, we are vegetarians so I used TVP in place of meat, all ingredients in the recipe are all great for the flavoring of TVP, I used catsup in place of tomatoe sause I couldn't make myself open a whole can of tomato sause just to use 2tablespoons +2tsp of tomato sause and I opened a can of roasted diced tomatoes for the liquid for the TVP made it excellent yummy next I won't use as much sugar next time I will have honey or brown sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
This recipe did not taste good at all. Here is how I fixed it to make it edible; ~ extra tomato sauce (as others suggested) ~ 2 T chili powder ~ 1 T apple cider vinegar ~ 1/3 cup ketchup ~ extra dash of salt & pepper Also, Add the bell pepper when you add the onions, the bell peppers could use the extra cooking time for a softer result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ707

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
Very yummy! My whole family enjoyed these! We used Lightlife's Veggie "ground beef" instead of tempeh and you'd never know you were missing meat! Also, skipped the molasses. Keeping this in our rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
This is a solid recipe. That being said, I'm totally going to be that guy who made something very different from what the recipe says to do... I made my own unseasoned marinara to serve as the base. Dice a tomato or two, an onion and some garlic. Mix in tomato paste and a touch of water. Then season that sauce with the spices listed in this recipe until it tastes that way that you want it to taste. I didn't use Worcestershire sauce. I used Bragg's amino acids instead. I do think it would be better the next time with a touch of brown sugar. I used the fake crumbly hamburger meat stuff instead of the tempe. I mixed in some fresh black and pinto beans that i cooked in my pressure cooker. I used some green and red pepper. I served on a fresh organic ciabatta roll that I found in my grocery store's bakery. This is totally in the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
I didnt like tempeh. The recipe was dry. I ended up adding the whole can of tomato sauce. I ended up adding it to my vegetarian soup in order for me to eat it. - Renee
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
My only comment is that this can be a bit dry (using veggie crumbles). I'd use just one 12 oz package; I tried using 16 oz, per the recipe (for tempeh). I'd also add a whole small can of tomato sauce...more than a 1/4 cup. Otherwise, the flavors were awesome in this recipe. Best veggie sloppy joe I've had so far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Great! I used a full can of tomato sauce, as recommended, left out the cayenne pepper for the little ones (would have been even better with it) and used protein veggie crumbles instead of tempeh or beef. Turned out great. Just the right amount of "sloppiness".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
I thought these were excellent! Maybe the tempeh gave it a deeper flavor? I didn't have molasses nor coriander so left those out. I would definitely try this with maybe turkey next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Excellent, also doubled tomatoe sauce and garlic, and added tomatoe paste then used 'Smart Ground'. We are not vegetarians, but my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
fantastic. Such a hit, it was requested a second time! Tempeh is awesome. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana
Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Waterville, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

How to Make Turkey Sloppy Joes

See how to make a delicious Sloppy Joe with ground turkey!

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States