Vegetarian Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
I'll give this five stars for the flavor, but next time I'll use ground beef and pick something else for Meatless Monday. Veggie ground needs to be deeply buried in a recipe to work, not be front and centre. I love love love the flavor of the sauce though and will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
This recipe is great for all your Vegetarian friends go to all recipes now, to look up this wonderful recipe NOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
Thanks for the recipe, but be sure to make sure you get vegetarian Worcestershire sauce, since the original kind is made with fish. ^^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
Fantastic recipe! Even my carnivore husband loves it. I like to substitute extra firm tofu for the tempeh and use a full can of tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonny's Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
Loved it!!! My family is not vegetarian and we loved this! Nice kick to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
i have not made this recipe so i can't comment on how it tastes but i just wanted to say worceshire sauce is not vegetarian. it traditionally has anchovies in it so beware!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovecheese

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia Fields, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schererville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Wow, this is really good! I used extra firm tofu instead of tempeh, since it was what I had on hand. I halved the recipe but stuck to the 1/4 cup tomato sauce. I left out the celery seed since I didn't have that on hand, either, and I used vegan worchestershire sauce. This would be a great quick weeknight meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
I had just bought my vegetarian worshtishire sauce and was surfing for a recipe to try it on... and voila'. This recipe whips up quickly. It's been over 14 years since I had a sloppy joe, but this certainly reminded me of what I used to enjoy. Small amount of clean up involved- the flavors are good with sweet initial flavor and a spicy aftertaste. I agree with another reviewer, my 8 year old thought it was too spicy, though I thought it was perfect. (I'm a mild salsa type gal). Very good flavor, I don't think it could pass as the real deal but certainly will pass this on to EVERY vegetarian/vegan I know (I think vegan use br. sugar in lieu of honey). I used MorningStar for my tempeh/meat substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
This is a nice way to use tempeh in something other than stir fry. We did use more 1/4C additional tomato sauce. Next time we'll half the recipe since we were cooking for just 2 and this made a lot of leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Descolada

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Very good! I followed the recipe exactly. I'll make again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

How to Make Turkey Sloppy Joes

See how to make a delicious Sloppy Joe with ground turkey!

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States