Vegetarian Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
Good recipe, but remember that Worcestershire sauce is NOT vegetarian unless you get a vegan version; regular Worcestershire has anchovies in it. Also, use brown sugar instead of the honey if cooking for vegans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juliemay7

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Delaware, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
Fantastic recipe! Even my carnivore husband loves it. I like to substitute extra firm tofu for the tempeh and use a full can of tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonny's Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
Thanks for the recipe, but be sure to make sure you get vegetarian Worcestershire sauce, since the original kind is made with fish. ^^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
I've made this a number of times and love it. I'd give it 5 stars except I always have adjustments to make. I always add way more tomato sauce - usually the entire can worth. I tend to do less tempeh and more onion and bell pepper just because I like to load up on veggies where I can as well. I always double the garlic in any recipe too. Other than that, the flavors are spot on and this is a GREAT vegetarian alternative - and we're not even vegetarian! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Townsend, Washington, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
After a long search for tempeh at the grocery strore I came up empty handed, so I used veggie ground round. So this rating may be a little "off". However I found the combination of spices to be just to much, will not be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
I had just bought my vegetarian worshtishire sauce and was surfing for a recipe to try it on... and voila'. This recipe whips up quickly. It's been over 14 years since I had a sloppy joe, but this certainly reminded me of what I used to enjoy. Small amount of clean up involved- the flavors are good with sweet initial flavor and a spicy aftertaste. I agree with another reviewer, my 8 year old thought it was too spicy, though I thought it was perfect. (I'm a mild salsa type gal). Very good flavor, I don't think it could pass as the real deal but certainly will pass this on to EVERY vegetarian/vegan I know (I think vegan use br. sugar in lieu of honey). I used MorningStar for my tempeh/meat substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
Very good and a great way to use tempeh (which we love but always use in stirfry). It wasn't as saucy as I expected, so I added more tomato sauce and a little ketchup. Good spices for us, actually too spicy for my toddlers so I'll cut back on the cayene and some others next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
In the end the general consensus in my house was that this was pretty good, but probably won't be made again because the 20g of fat is more than we would like, not because it wasn't good though. It did need a few modifications. After I had followed the recipe exactly and sampled the results I was pretty disappointed. As other reviewers have said it needed more tomato sauce, and I added about an extra tablespoon of Worcestershire sauce. It was terribly dry and definitely did not resemble any sloppy joe I had ever had. With the additions it was much better, and as leftovers actually seemed to be much more tasty than the initial serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Wow, this is really good! I used extra firm tofu instead of tempeh, since it was what I had on hand. I halved the recipe but stuck to the 1/4 cup tomato sauce. I left out the celery seed since I didn't have that on hand, either, and I used vegan worchestershire sauce. This would be a great quick weeknight meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
i have not made this recipe so i can't comment on how it tastes but i just wanted to say worceshire sauce is not vegetarian. it traditionally has anchovies in it so beware!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovecheese

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia Fields, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schererville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

How to Make Turkey Sloppy Joes

See how to make a delicious Sloppy Joe with ground turkey!

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States