Vegetarian Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
This recipe is great for all your Vegetarian friends go to all recipes now, to look up this wonderful recipe NOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
Thanks for the recipe, but be sure to make sure you get vegetarian Worcestershire sauce, since the original kind is made with fish. ^^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
Fantastic recipe! Even my carnivore husband loves it. I like to substitute extra firm tofu for the tempeh and use a full can of tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonny's Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
Loved it!!! My family is not vegetarian and we loved this! Nice kick to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
Very good and a great way to use tempeh (which we love but always use in stirfry). It wasn't as saucy as I expected, so I added more tomato sauce and a little ketchup. Good spices for us, actually too spicy for my toddlers so I'll cut back on the cayene and some others next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
i have not made this recipe so i can't comment on how it tastes but i just wanted to say worceshire sauce is not vegetarian. it traditionally has anchovies in it so beware!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovecheese

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia Fields, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schererville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
Good recipe, but remember that Worcestershire sauce is NOT vegetarian unless you get a vegan version; regular Worcestershire has anchovies in it. Also, use brown sugar instead of the honey if cooking for vegans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juliemay7

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Delaware, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Wow, this is really good! I used extra firm tofu instead of tempeh, since it was what I had on hand. I halved the recipe but stuck to the 1/4 cup tomato sauce. I left out the celery seed since I didn't have that on hand, either, and I used vegan worchestershire sauce. This would be a great quick weeknight meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
I had just bought my vegetarian worshtishire sauce and was surfing for a recipe to try it on... and voila'. This recipe whips up quickly. It's been over 14 years since I had a sloppy joe, but this certainly reminded me of what I used to enjoy. Small amount of clean up involved- the flavors are good with sweet initial flavor and a spicy aftertaste. I agree with another reviewer, my 8 year old thought it was too spicy, though I thought it was perfect. (I'm a mild salsa type gal). Very good flavor, I don't think it could pass as the real deal but certainly will pass this on to EVERY vegetarian/vegan I know (I think vegan use br. sugar in lieu of honey). I used MorningStar for my tempeh/meat substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
No way! Tempeh is not a family favorite, apparently. My husband was the only one who ate a whole sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spunky2222

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

How to Make Turkey Sloppy Joes

See how to make a delicious Sloppy Joe with ground turkey!

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States