Vegetarian Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
I very much like this recipe and have made it several times. I use a lot more tomato sauce than the recipe calls for. I just pour until moist. I also cut down on some of the Italian seasonings to adjust to my taste. Overall, I love this recipe. Very filling and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
I've made this a number of times and love it. I'd give it 5 stars except I always have adjustments to make. I always add way more tomato sauce - usually the entire can worth. I tend to do less tempeh and more onion and bell pepper just because I like to load up on veggies where I can as well. I always double the garlic in any recipe too. Other than that, the flavors are spot on and this is a GREAT vegetarian alternative - and we're not even vegetarian! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Townsend, Washington, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
This was brilliant. Since other reviewers thought it needed more tomato sauce, I started with a big can and kept adding sauce until it tasted the way I wanted it to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah2974

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
Worchester sauce IS NOT vegetarian
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daveycooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
I hate this. I have nothing against people who do not eat meat but these were not to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Osider760

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oceanside, California, USA
Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
I'll give this five stars for the flavor, but next time I'll use ground beef and pick something else for Meatless Monday. Veggie ground needs to be deeply buried in a recipe to work, not be front and centre. I love love love the flavor of the sauce though and will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Very good! I followed the recipe exactly. I'll make again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
This is a nice way to use tempeh in something other than stir fry. We did use more 1/4C additional tomato sauce. Next time we'll half the recipe since we were cooking for just 2 and this made a lot of leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Descolada

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2010
sorry...I didn't like this at all, but the dog did! We are new vegans and I used TVP and kept adding stuff too (Homade chili sauce from up north, ketchup, ect), but still didn't like it. Thanks for sharing though..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seabrook, Texas, USA
Living In: Lago Vista, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wilma Laura Wiggins
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
Very tasty! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilma Laura Wiggins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Post Falls, Idaho, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Sloppy Joes

See how to make a delicious Sloppy Joe with ground turkey!

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States