Vegetarian Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Great! I used a full can of tomato sauce, as recommended, left out the cayenne pepper for the little ones (would have been even better with it) and used protein veggie crumbles instead of tempeh or beef. Turned out great. Just the right amount of "sloppiness".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Lange

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
I thought these were excellent! Maybe the tempeh gave it a deeper flavor? I didn't have molasses nor coriander so left those out. I would definitely try this with maybe turkey next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Excellent, also doubled tomatoe sauce and garlic, and added tomatoe paste then used 'Smart Ground'. We are not vegetarians, but my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
fantastic. Such a hit, it was requested a second time! Tempeh is awesome. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana
Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Waterville, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Very nice recipe. It was a solid meal, but ends up being almost impossible to hold together on a burger bun -- may be best served in a pita pocket or tortilla shell for eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
The recipe would have received a 5 star if not for the fact that I had to add more tomato sauce, which technically changes the recipe. I don't know if different brands of Tempeh are more moist than others, so that may have been a factor. Flavor is five star, texture is great too. Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracyg777

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Forest Grove, Oregon, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Being a vegetarian, I have had A LOT of vegetarian sloppy joe's. These were the best ones I have ever had! My boyfriend has recently jumped the meat train and joined me as a veg head, so he sometimes can be difficult to please, and he said these were the best Sloppy Joe's he has had...PERIOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOHara87

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dexter, New York, USA
Living In: Watertown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
I think this recipe was pretty good. I did add more tomato sauce as some of the other reviewers suggested. I used only 1/2 the amount of oil to make it a little lighter and it still tasted great with all the spices. It had great flavor and my husband and 1-year-old enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
I loved this recipe. The only things I changed were that I added a whole can of tomato sauce (I think the recipe as is is too dry), used extra firm tofu instead of tempeh, cut down on the spices slightly, and did not add the cayenne pepper at all. Put the mixture on whole wheat buns with cheddar cheese on top. Yum! I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
It's really good if you get the right sauce to put in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yetenekli

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Sloppy Joes

See how to make a delicious Sloppy Joe with ground turkey!

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States