Vegetarian Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
We're not fans of eggplant so we skipped it and substituted 2C cubed zucchini and 1C frozen grilled corn instead. Just to use it up, I threw in some leftover soy beef crumbles which added some texture. We also skipped the Parmesan cheese on top. This is such a good recipe and we're making it again today, in fact!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimber

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
I added a squash or two instead of tomatoes, using what I had on hand. This is absolutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Villa Hills, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
I used the recipe as a jumping off point to use up what's on-hand: leeks, mushrooms, frozen mixed vegetables, crumbled boca burgers, tomato sauce plus all the seasonings in one pot. Used sour cream, cheddar and canned fried onions in mashed potatoes. The result was mighty tasty! It held together nicely and had loads of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
I love curry, eggplant, mashed potatoes and Parmesan. Unfortunately, even with the extreme amounts of curry powder and cumin, this was really bland. I had to add a bunch of Costa Rican Salsa Lizano to make it enjoyable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
I was really excited about this recipe and it sounded really good but the finished product kind of tasted weird. I'm not sure the mashed potatoes (with butter and milk) mesh very well with the curry-flavored veggies. Or maybe the parmesan caused a problem. I'm not sure. All I know is that the combination tasted a little like throw up. I hate to say it. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
This turned out to be fantastic! I used veggie stock instead of water, added zuccini & mushrooms, used fresh tomatoes instead of canned, and added a couple more herbs like oregano. This was so delicious, I will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
I made as is and it was great. It had a lovely flavor and a nice spicy bite not at all over powering. Everything was very well blended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Port Washington, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
Jean - great recipe, especially for the lenten season. For more flavor, we added oregano and parsley, substituted chicken broth for the water and added zucchini. Here's a twist - my husband grabbed the cinnamon instead of the cumin and it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
This is a great recipe and you can change it all around depending on whatever you have on hand
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
Delicious! I used zucchini and some leftover mashed potatoes from Christmas dinner. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallard S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Neponset, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

A Scotsman's Shepherd Pie

See a version of shepherd pie with lamb, mashed potatoes, and Cheddar cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States