Vegetarian Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
I added a little sugar to the curry, but otherwise this recipe was excellent, and a refreshing change from the ordinary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
Yum! Followed the recipe to a T except for browning under the broiler...I skipped that step. I've made this at least a dozen times and it never disappoints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary p. furlong

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Verdun, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
This came out terrific and is a keeper, but I think I'll cut back on the curry next time - a bit overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murrieta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
kind of flavorless and took forever. disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
My boyfriend and I loved this. easy to make and so yummy. I rec adding a tad of cream cheese and parm to the potatoes or making a vegetarian gravy. oh yes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
LOVE this! I challenged my husband, who does all the cooking, to try a meatless January. He made this last night and it was a hit. Even my fussy teenager ate it. He did make a few adjustments. We didn't have eggplant or bell pepper. He added about three ounces of soy crumbles for texture. I suggested the addition of cauliflower next time to highlight the Indian character of the dish. There are plenty of other ways to customize this recipe. Bottom line - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Made few subs to be a vegan meal (soy milk & veggie parmesan for mashed potatoes). Stirred veggie-parm into mashed potatoes. Took some of the review suggestions and added a chopped carrot, little less curry, and few extra spices. The veggie part of the pie was amazing - and totally rocked as leftovers the next few days! My kids wouldn't touch it, but I think that was due to onions chopped too big. Husband, who prefers meat in everything, said it was good. My vegan Dad raved about it. Definitely good meal for vegans/vegetarians who don't miss the meat. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catastrophiccook

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Perhaps I did something wrong, but I thought this recipe was quite bland and I even added vegetable broth instead of water, and sour cream and cottage cheese to my mashed potatoes. All I could taste was the curry/cumin. Next time I will probably try it with beans and mushrooms on the bottom layer, then veggies in the middle and potatoes on the top without the curry and cumin... and extra garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Wow. I was surprised how much I liked this! I thought the curry would be weird in a shepherd's pie, but the flavors went together nicely. I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
I loved this recipe with a minor adjustment. I substituted 2 zucchini and 1 can of black beans for the eggplant. This is the second vegetarian Shaphard's Pie I have tried and this one is definitely the better of the two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

A Scotsman's Shepherd Pie

See a version of shepherd pie with lamb, mashed potatoes, and Cheddar cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States