Vegetarian Shepherd's Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
We LOVE Marmite so we added some into the water while heating and some drizzled on top of the mashed potatoes. We also added two bay leaves, two pinches basil and oregano. The end result was fantastic. Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
This is a very good, filling vegetarian meal. I used baby red potatoes mashed with a little bit of butter, milk, garlic, and salt for the top. I also had to use considerably more vegetable broth for the lentils and barley. I will definitely make this again. For recipe users new to cooking with lentils, note that unless you soak them prior to cooking, they take 45 minutes to 1 hour to to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
This is the best vegetarian sheperd's pie recipe. My family consists of vegetarians/non vegetarians and this is one of the few recipes that everyone can agree it's a favorite. The only changes I made was to omit the vegemite(didn't have any) and I add shredded cheddar cheese between the vegetable mixture and mashed potatoes before putting in the oven. The leftovers are awesome as well. I may try adding chopped garlic to the vegetable mix next time. Let you know how it goes. Thanks Allrecipes for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Even my non-vegetarian husband had seconds -- I call that a success! Mods: Had to add extra veg broth to the barley/lentil mixture as the barley just wasn't getting soft. Added worcestershire sauce to the carrot/onion mixture in place of the yeast extract. Added a layer of corn in between to make it more like the meaty version I usually make for hubby. Next time I think I will put the walnuts through the food processor and maybe add some canned diced tomatoes to the veggie mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gardner, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
So good with my own adaptations! I made 2 cups of Not Chick'n bouillon, added 1 teaspoon of nutrional yeast, then cooked the lentils and barley in it until tender. I sauteed the onions in olive oil with 3 cloves of minced garlic, added the walnuts to toast, sauteed the carrots until tender, added about 6 diced button mushrooms, then added about half a cup of frozen chopped spinach, and half a cup each of frozen peas and corn. I then made a nutritional yeast gravy, and mixed it together with the lentil and barley and veggies. I made the mashed potatoes, added a thin layer of cheddar cheese on top of the veggies, then added the mashed potatoes. I then topped the potatoes with cheddar cheese, sprinkled parmesan on top of that, then sprinkled with paprika for added color and a light sprinkle of black pepper. AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shiprock, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
First attempt a bit bland and dry, but I see the potential. Added green beans and garlic, as one reviewer recommended, and plan to add a can of tomatoes to both moisten and flavor better next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Made this for dinner tonight with a few tweaks. Thankfully, I had the vegemite on hand having just made a trip home to Australia. I also added about a tablespoon of Worcestershire sauce, a tablespoon of tomato puree, 2 cloves of garlic and 1/2 cup of frozen peas. Topped the potatoes with mozzarella and sharp cheddar. Turned out delicious. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rehoboth Beach, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This is one of those dishes that you have to play around with a lot (too much) to get it right. I followed the recipe and wasn't satisfied with several aspects of this dish - there wasn't even flavour/sauce, it was really dense, my barley/lentil mix was too chewy, the crunchiness of the walnuts just doesn't work, etc. I made a veggie gravy to add more flavour and added cheese to the mixture but i'm still not willing to serve this for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
This was good but dry. Perhaps it is from being at a higher altitude? Next time I will make sure to add milk to the potatoes and leave more liquid in the lentil mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Super fantastic. Loved this - made it for thanksgiving and it turned out great. I nixed the walnuts and added a package of veggie ground round to the stew part for my meat-loving partner. I also added some poultry seasoning to the stew to make up for the lack of poultry on turkey day and it really made a difference! I also added frozen peas/corn. Finally, I used yams instead of potatoes on top. Out of this world, and soo healthy! This will be in our regular rotation. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

A Scotsman's Shepherd Pie

See a version of shepherd pie with lamb, mashed potatoes, and Cheddar cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States