Vegetarian Shepherd's Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by EFINTON
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
This recipe has great potential with a little doctoring. I added celery and wished afterwards that I had also put in some garlic and herbs. It does require a lot of pots, but is pretty simple to put together. More vegetable broth was needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EFINTON

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
This recipe turned out surprisingly flavourful. I did make a few alterations though. First, I doubled it because it is soooo good and you'll want the leftovers. Then, I added 2 tsp. of garlic to the veggie broth/lentil/barley mixture. In addition on successive attempts, I added tofu on the bottom, then spinach and mushrooms on top, and then the lentil mixture with some frozen mixed veggies stirred in. I omitted the nuts and doubled the mashed potatoes to make a yummy "crust". But each to their own! Thanks Ron for a great recipe that I will always treasure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbtvs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2006
I couldn't get over how good this was. I couldn't get the yeast spread either, but I mixed a little warm water with dry yeast and then measured out the right amount. I also substituted 2 yams and 1 red potato for the topping. I also added a little water after the lental/ barley mixture had cooked for a bit. Thanks for wonderful veg dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
Very good and simple. I took the advice of others and cooked lentils/barley for 15 then added carrots and onions to the same pot. Came out great. Also added a bay leaf and oregeno to the lentil mixture and cheese between the mixture and mashed pots. My husband had 3 helpings! Note: if you have a family that likes large servings then double the recipe amounts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2002
This was really good! I added garlic, and whirled the carrots, walnuts, onions, and garlic in the food processor (rather than chopping/shredding). Added a little extra water and flour for more gravy. We are definitely adding it to our regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Presque Isle, Maine, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2005
Excellent Recipe. I didn't have any yeast extract spread, so I substituted nutritional yeast flakes (about 1/4 cup) and it had the same effect. Also, I'm not vegan, so I mashed the potatoes with milk and a little butter to add flavor, and topped with about 1/2 cup shredded cheddar/jack cheese to make a bubbly mess. Also, I added a bunch of frozen green beans to the mix to get more veggies in there. My family (including two kids - 4 and 2) LOVED this, and my husband asked me when I was going to make it again. I served it with oven roasted broccoli (broccoli, olive oil and a little salt put in the oven at 450 for about 15 minutes.) Yum, Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
This was an excellent recipe, thank you! The walnuts, lentils and barley created a very delicious hearty flavor. I added some frozen peas and would suggest an additional carrot. I didn't have the yeast spread so I used a packet of dried yeast (prepared as directed) and seemed to work fine. This is a great dish to customize with your own favorite veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
Even my husband who loves meat liked this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
This is a winner!! It is a vegetarian comfort food. The only change that I made was to leave out the walnuts (not fond of walnuts). Other than that, follow the recipe and get ready for a delicious, warm, yummy meal that really hits the spot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ProLifeGoddess

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
We have updated this recipe to clarify the yeast extract spread ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States