Vegetarian Shepherd's Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2005
Excellent Recipe. I didn't have any yeast extract spread, so I substituted nutritional yeast flakes (about 1/4 cup) and it had the same effect. Also, I'm not vegan, so I mashed the potatoes with milk and a little butter to add flavor, and topped with about 1/2 cup shredded cheddar/jack cheese to make a bubbly mess. Also, I added a bunch of frozen green beans to the mix to get more veggies in there. My family (including two kids - 4 and 2) LOVED this, and my husband asked me when I was going to make it again. I served it with oven roasted broccoli (broccoli, olive oil and a little salt put in the oven at 450 for about 15 minutes.) Yum, Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
We have updated this recipe to clarify the yeast extract spread ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
Very good and simple. I took the advice of others and cooked lentils/barley for 15 then added carrots and onions to the same pot. Came out great. Also added a bay leaf and oregeno to the lentil mixture and cheese between the mixture and mashed pots. My husband had 3 helpings! Note: if you have a family that likes large servings then double the recipe amounts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2002
This was really good! I added garlic, and whirled the carrots, walnuts, onions, and garlic in the food processor (rather than chopping/shredding). Added a little extra water and flour for more gravy. We are definitely adding it to our regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Presque Isle, Maine, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
This recipe turned out surprisingly flavourful. I did make a few alterations though. First, I doubled it because it is soooo good and you'll want the leftovers. Then, I added 2 tsp. of garlic to the veggie broth/lentil/barley mixture. In addition on successive attempts, I added tofu on the bottom, then spinach and mushrooms on top, and then the lentil mixture with some frozen mixed veggies stirred in. I omitted the nuts and doubled the mashed potatoes to make a yummy "crust". But each to their own! Thanks Ron for a great recipe that I will always treasure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbtvs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2006
I couldn't get over how good this was. I couldn't get the yeast spread either, but I mixed a little warm water with dry yeast and then measured out the right amount. I also substituted 2 yams and 1 red potato for the topping. I also added a little water after the lental/ barley mixture had cooked for a bit. Thanks for wonderful veg dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
This recipe is terrible. I followed the instructions almost exactly, the only thing i did differently was i used boullion instead of yeast extract. I also added a cup of water into the barley/lentil mixture before putting it in the oven because I was worried it would have been too dry. I was correct in doing so as all the water I added was absorbed. The coarseness of the lentils, barley walnuts in conjunction with the smoothness of the potato topping just doesn't work. It's chewey and completely throws me off of the rest of the dish. The only reason I didn't give this 1 star is that at least the flavour was half decent and the dish was marginally edible if you are starving and there is nothing left in your house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
I am really surprised by the high reviews for this recipe. I tried it two nights ago, followed instructions exactly and ended up with a very dense, extremely plain tasting, unpleasant brown/white casserole. The brown layer was as dense as the mashed potatoes, and lacking in color and vegetables. I've been a vegetarian for a long time now, and I wonder how many great veggie recipes some of the readers here have tried. This one had a savory taste and thick texture, but there was just no variety of flavor, no creaminess, no color, blech. I tried it again the next night, thinking it might age well, but no change. Adding copious amounts of cheese, green onions and bacon bits on top helped it resemble a baked potato so we could finish it off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EFINTON
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
This recipe has great potential with a little doctoring. I added celery and wished afterwards that I had also put in some garlic and herbs. It does require a lot of pots, but is pretty simple to put together. More vegetable broth was needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EFINTON

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2005
This was good, but not as good as I had expected. I added some mushrooms but I think that was a mistake - the texture seemed out of place with the rest. Also, I don't understand the need to cook the carrots, onions and walnuts separately, instead of just adding them to the lentils and barley after fifteen minutes. That's what I did and everything cooked perfectly. I don't really like cooked carrots, though, so next time I might try using zucchini instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States