Vegetarian Shepherd's Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
This was pretty tasty! My only mistake was using split peas instead of lentils-- they stayed too chewy for my taste. The mashed potatoes on top were delicious! There wasn't even much left over, and there are only two of us! I also used regular yeast instead of marmite/vegemite (I don't believe they sell that in the U.S...?) but might just leave it out all together next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Next time I'll chop the nuts more finely to keep them more in the background. . I don't think the marmite was necessary. I also used evaporated milk and butter as I usually would in my mashed potatoes. This dish was fast and easy to prepare. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sandy Hook, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
This was very good! I made it as written except for the vegemite which I couldnt find. I did add a 1/2 cup of diced sauted mushrooms. I also had to use more water since my lentils soaked up a lot of it. My DH went back for 3 helpings. Definately a keeper! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenwee99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
I am SO happy with this recipe. Turned out exactly as I hoped and I'd made no changes (except to add about 3/4 cup water to lentil mix before putting into oven so lentils would soften more). You don't miss the meat in the least and really it's no more work than regular Shepherd's Pie. Excellent! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
I thought this was good. My kids and husband loved it. I will make extra mashed potatoes everytime so I can make this for the next day or to freeze. I added an extra carrot and left over green beans to the mix and cheese on top. I also didn't have vegemite and used Veggie bullion but I am on the look out for Vegemite now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
This is a great beginning recipe but I did make several changes: used 2 cups of veggie broth for the lentils and barley then added 1 tbs/1 tbs of water/cornstarch to thicken left over broth into "gravy"; subbed beef bullion for Vegemite (couldn't find); sauteed half onion then added to lentil/barley mixture; sauteed fresh carrots and zucchini, canned peas and green beans (in same pan); microwaved my potatoes then mashed them with a little bit of half and half. I also made a simple gravy (2 tbs of melted butter, 2 tbs of flour, 2 cups of veggie broth, cooked until thick) for serving on the side. I layered everything (lentil/barley-veggies-potatoes) then put under the broiler to brown the potatoes. Oh, I also added the walnuts to the lentils and barley rather than the veggies...it just seemed to make more sense and added a nice texture. Overall a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by branchan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
Had trouble finding the yeast extract spread, so used Better than Bouillon and it worked fine, wonderful flavor and nice texture; changed the directions slightly as some others suggested: In a large saucepan over medium-low heat, combine broth, yeast extract, lentils, barley, bay leaf and oregano. Simmer 15 minutes, then add carrot, garlic, onion and walnuts. Cook until tender, about 15 more minutes. Combine flour and water, and stir into lentil/carrot mixture; simmer until thickened. Season with salt and pepper. Pour mixture into a 2 quart casserole dish. Spoon mashed potatoes over lentil mixture. Bake at 350ºF for 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
Yum, Yum, Yum. I'm a real meat eater but this dish just made it into our weekly rotation. It is fabulous. Like others, I added some butter to the mashed spuds to flavor it up and used home made chicken broth to really bump up the flavor. I love this dish and would serve it to company without hesitation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FATDAD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hudson, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
Absolutely amazing. Changes: celery instead of walnuts, yeast flakes instead of vegemite, used some potato water in the barley/lentil/veggie mix (with broth concentrate), cooked barley for 10 min before adding lentils (I don't recommend this!), and I took others suggestions to use 3 pans. I've officially decided I'm going to always make extra mashed potatoes so I can make this afterward (and only have to use 2 pots!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LRIGREM

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States