Vegetarian Shepherd's Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
This is a very good, filling vegetarian meal. I used baby red potatoes mashed with a little bit of butter, milk, garlic, and salt for the top. I also had to use considerably more vegetable broth for the lentils and barley. I will definitely make this again. For recipe users new to cooking with lentils, note that unless you soak them prior to cooking, they take 45 minutes to 1 hour to to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
This is the best vegetarian sheperd's pie recipe. My family consists of vegetarians/non vegetarians and this is one of the few recipes that everyone can agree it's a favorite. The only changes I made was to omit the vegemite(didn't have any) and I add shredded cheddar cheese between the vegetable mixture and mashed potatoes before putting in the oven. The leftovers are awesome as well. I may try adding chopped garlic to the vegetable mix next time. Let you know how it goes. Thanks Allrecipes for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Even my non-vegetarian husband had seconds -- I call that a success! Mods: Had to add extra veg broth to the barley/lentil mixture as the barley just wasn't getting soft. Added worcestershire sauce to the carrot/onion mixture in place of the yeast extract. Added a layer of corn in between to make it more like the meaty version I usually make for hubby. Next time I think I will put the walnuts through the food processor and maybe add some canned diced tomatoes to the veggie mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gardner, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
So good with my own adaptations! I made 2 cups of Not Chick'n bouillon, added 1 teaspoon of nutrional yeast, then cooked the lentils and barley in it until tender. I sauteed the onions in olive oil with 3 cloves of minced garlic, added the walnuts to toast, sauteed the carrots until tender, added about 6 diced button mushrooms, then added about half a cup of frozen chopped spinach, and half a cup each of frozen peas and corn. I then made a nutritional yeast gravy, and mixed it together with the lentil and barley and veggies. I made the mashed potatoes, added a thin layer of cheddar cheese on top of the veggies, then added the mashed potatoes. I then topped the potatoes with cheddar cheese, sprinkled parmesan on top of that, then sprinkled with paprika for added color and a light sprinkle of black pepper. AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shiprock, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
First attempt a bit bland and dry, but I see the potential. Added green beans and garlic, as one reviewer recommended, and plan to add a can of tomatoes to both moisten and flavor better next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Made this for dinner tonight with a few tweaks. Thankfully, I had the vegemite on hand having just made a trip home to Australia. I also added about a tablespoon of Worcestershire sauce, a tablespoon of tomato puree, 2 cloves of garlic and 1/2 cup of frozen peas. Topped the potatoes with mozzarella and sharp cheddar. Turned out delicious. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rehoboth Beach, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This is one of those dishes that you have to play around with a lot (too much) to get it right. I followed the recipe and wasn't satisfied with several aspects of this dish - there wasn't even flavour/sauce, it was really dense, my barley/lentil mix was too chewy, the crunchiness of the walnuts just doesn't work, etc. I made a veggie gravy to add more flavour and added cheese to the mixture but i'm still not willing to serve this for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
This was good but dry. Perhaps it is from being at a higher altitude? Next time I will make sure to add milk to the potatoes and leave more liquid in the lentil mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Super fantastic. Loved this - made it for thanksgiving and it turned out great. I nixed the walnuts and added a package of veggie ground round to the stew part for my meat-loving partner. I also added some poultry seasoning to the stew to make up for the lack of poultry on turkey day and it really made a difference! I also added frozen peas/corn. Finally, I used yams instead of potatoes on top. Out of this world, and soo healthy! This will be in our regular rotation. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Delicious! Agreed that it needed some additional seasoning. I added Thyme and Rosemary, and also cooked the onion/carrot/extra veggie mixture with olive oil, garlic, and salt first. The potatoes needed a little butter or sour cream as well. Very easy to do once you've tried it once, and I can definitely see how this works well for leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Athens, Georgia, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States