Vegetarian Shepherd's Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
delicious! Have made this twice now and while it was good the first time, the key for me was to season the bulgar and kasha a lot and cook it in vegetable broth with garlic and onion. I had ever cooked with either of them so it was a fun and yummy experience. I also added celery. It was a hit with my family and pretty hearty. It is veeery time consuming, I will only make it on the weekends from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrisy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Finally a Shepherd's pie to replace the sadly missed meat version! My 2 kids (12 & 4) gobbled it up, and my husband had a sore belly he ate so much! I added some veggie stock with the flour and put a bottle of alfredo sauce in combination with rice milk to make the 1 1/2-2 cups of milk. I also used 1 cup of bulgur wheat cooked in 2 cups of water on low for 15 minutes instead of using the two different kinds of wheat. Thanks for an awesome recipe, this will be one of our regulars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Lentils or soy sausage added to the veggie mixture was nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
I added more vegtables, left off the bulgar and kasha. Found this recipe to be truly delicious....Bravo! Great on a cold and rainy night..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tuesday
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
It was good. It turned out to be a little more labor intensive than I had planned on and we ended up having to cook it quite a bit longer than the recipe suggested. If I were to make this again I would definitely take some suggestions on how to spice it up, it was kinda bland though very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tuesday

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Leelanau, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Yikes! I made this and it tasted A.) like i was biting into soft buckwheat and B.) bland. i tried to add more spices or salt, but everything i tried to add was not helpful. In the end, we fed it to the chickens. They liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpiritedShannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Cork, County Cork, Ireland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Promising recipe but definitely on the bland side. I added in more veggies -- celery and a red bell pepper -- and some indian spices, nutritional yeast, and veggie bullion with the milk. It needed even more, maybe some thyme or sage to give it more of a savory flavor? Also I think the kasha was unnecessary and I might just use all bulguhr in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MonaG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Graniteville, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
My boyfriend and I are meat eaters and I'm trying to give us more vegetarian meals so I was hopeful about this recipe. We did not like it at all, so much that we didn't eat it and threw it all in our compost bin. I'm not sure if it was the kasha or bulgur (I think kasha) that has the odd taste but that's what put me off. If you've had kasha and like the taste/smell, then you may like this. But it just wasn't for us. And the grains were all mushy so the overall texture of the dish was bad to me. This may be a good option for existing vegetarians or those who like kasha/bulgur already but don't think this is a dish you can serve to unsuspecting meat eaters and have them enjoy it. It may be true for some but it was gross to us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
This was just ok. Like others said, it was bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
SO WONDERFUL! Very hearty, I didn't miss meat at all, neither did my meat-lover fiance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happychef211

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States