Vegetarian Sandwich Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2006
I thought this was EXCELLENT! My husband and I love the Worthington brand Big Franks and they work great for this recipe (so do the Veja-links). I will definitely use this recipe often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
Two out of three kids would eat it so this is definitely a keeper. I used Linkettes and dill relish instead of the sweet. Very good even I ate it two days in a row!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOPOOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
I've been making this for years! My recipe uses dill pickles and we prefer Loma Linda Big Franks (regular or low-fat). This tastes great on whole-grain bread with crisp lettuce. You can also make the spread in a food processor for a smoother texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milton Freewater, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
This is wonderful. I used Morningstar Farms frozen veggie dogs (my new fav). Thawed and cubed them, threw them in a frying pan with the onions for just a sec. to make sure the dogs were cooked. Not sure if they needed to be. Then threw the dogs, onion and relish into the food processor. Let them cool then added some Miracle Whip. Yum! Reminds me of the canned deviled ham sandwich spread I used to eat as a child. Great on a bagel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vivianne417

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
I LOVE these sandwiches. We ate them growing up and my Mom always called them “Smooshed Weiner Sandwiches” Haha. We use Worthington brand Veja Links and regular relish. They are super fast, delicious and the mixture keeps in the fridge for a long time too. I have never added the onion but now might have to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 29, 2003
This sandwich spread is FABULOUS! The other two who rated it made it with the wrong veggie hot dogs. It MUST be made with the canned variety or it will not be good -- because those veggie dogs that are packaged like regular dogs are always nasty. You can get the canned ones at http://www.lomalindamarket.com (no - not a plug :) I think Linketts are best for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
I grew up eating this kind of stuff and this recipe in particular! I always loved it. I agree the Loma Linda Big Franks are the best to use in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richville, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2005
I used to eat this as a child at Seventh Day Adventist potlucks. It was always one of my favorite things. My husband says it tastes like the bologny spread he used to eat as a kid. I made it today and it is good. I bought a can of Linketts and a can of Vega-Links to see which one I liked better. I think that the Vega-Links have better color for this recipe and they also mash a lot easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Michigan, USA
Living In: Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
I just made this recipe and it was very good. I served it on a slice of bread with a slice of cheese and sliced tomatoes. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
Love it! Love it! One of my childhood favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grassy Butte, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Keene, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Chickpea Sandwich Filling

This quick-and-easy sandwich spread is a great alternative to tuna salad.

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Grilled Peanut Butter and Banana Sandwich

Make a grilled sandwich with gooey melted peanut butter and sweet sliced bananas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States