Vegetarian Refried Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Haveade these several times now. Great every time, I usually make just as recipe states, but have left out tomatoes a couple times. Still comes out good. Thank you for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly and even cooked for 2 hours longer but the beans never got soft enough. They remained crunchy. I will stick to the slow cooker recipe on this site. Wish I knew what I did wrong :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
This recipe worked out just fine for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doober Steele

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
my kids love this I use cans of black beans instead of pinto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
My Wife and I had this last night along with homemade Spanish rice, tostadas (with guacamole, lettuce, salsa and freshly boiled [and shredded] chicken) and it was just out of this world good. We were so full that we couldn't do anything else but sit on the couch and watch a movie. Great recipe! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn & Kenny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
Thank you for this recipe. It is similar to the recipe on the bag of beans, but better. The only thing I did different was to soak the beans overnight to reduce the initial cooking time and I stirred in some canned enchilada sauce for extra saucy-ness because I took these to a Mexi-style potluck and I didn't want these to dry out in the crockpot. Shredded cheddar cheese served on the side. Yumm, they were a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
Once you try this, you'll never want to go back to canned beans. So basic, yet so flavorful and healthy. I made this for a Nacho Sale fundraiser, and even though I had more then my counterpart, who made his with fat, I ran out. I got a lot of compliments. The only thing I did different then this recipe was that I sauteed some onions with the garlic, and after the beans softened up, I blended them a little before the last 30 minutes of cooking. I didn't blend them to the point of being mushy, but to where the beans were in small pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Added pepper. Too much cumin for me so added A third can of beans and more tomato yo tone it down. Liked it at that point
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Original recipe is great as a base recipe. From the original you can explore different ingredients and get a feel for what you want. I read a bunch of comments and adjusted some things... I made one pound of kidney beans an one pound of pinto beans. Half chicken broth. Halved garlic, cumin and chili powder - forgot to add olive oil. Added half a jalapeno (Diced) , some salsa and blended half of the beans after realizing I would not be able to mash the whole thing with a wooden spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
Good! I also added a diced onion to cook with the beans. When they were done cooking, I ran everything through my food processor and added about a cup of sour cream and a few Tbsp of taco seasoning (go Taco Bell!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Vegetarian Tortilla Stew

Pinto beans and enchilada sauce star in this simple, meatless tortilla stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States