Vegetarian Pumpkin Spinach Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
I love this recipe, my family looks forward to it every Fall. Though I make it without including okra, zucchini and carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
This tasted weird, probably because it had way too much pumpkin pie spice. If I make it again, I'll only do 1 tbsp at most. Otherwise it was fine, but that ruined it for my husband and me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MizMagg
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This is good stuff. A unique flavor combination and nutritional powerhouse of a recipe. I had my doubts, I admit, but it came together beautifully. I omitted okra because ew, and I used about 5 cups of vegetable broth instead of the veggie juice. The consistency is perfect. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MizMagg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
I really did not like the mix of flavors with this recipe. My husband said that it tasted better the next day, but I really had a difficult time eating it (I gave it two, instead of one star because my husband found it edible). It looked like it had potential, but I really don't know what I would do to even doctor it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
I wish there was a rating of negative stars. This soup was the most horrible stuff I have ever tried to eat. I was excited because it looked tasty and different. Well, it's certainly different... I literally couldn't eat it, and I will usually eat stuff that turns out badly because I'm too cheap to waste food if it's edible. This did not qualify as edible, in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by melissa
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I was a bit disappointed with this. I think it has potential though. I adapted things a bit: I used fresh tomatoes (skins removed) instead of canned, fresh pumpkin instead of canned. I used butter beans because i couldn't find fava beans. I thought the pumpkin pie spice was too strong. I was going to omit the meatless crumbles but decided to add them in hopes of taming the pie spice and salvage it. Unfortunately I anticipated loving this and double it to freeze. It is very healthy so i gave it 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by fivetwo84
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
This was pretty good! The only change I made was using butter beans instead of fava beans, & it worked out well! I didn't think they pumpkin pie spice was overpowering at all, & in my opinion, it could have used more. I also had to salt & pepper it more at the end. I wish this had more reviews; it's a good & easy dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fivetwo84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schererville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I prepared this for my friends annual Chili Cookoff. We did not win, but I'm still very proud of my creation. Infact, this maybe my very first creation--ever. So, yes it was that simple. And I even strayed from the recipe--another first! We added a can of corn, a can of black beans, nutmeg and cinnamon. It had amazing texture, and a great combination of sweet/spicy! Definitely making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I made this exactly as written and found it to be quite good. I didn't think the pie spice was overwhelming, but you can definitely taste the pumpkin which I love. It's not something I would make on a regular basis, but if you want something a little different and extremely healthy, this is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
This could be an awesome dish with a few tweaks. I had trouble mixing the ingredients because there simply wasn't enough liquid - I ended up adding 8 cups of water just to get the ingredients to mix. I couldn't find fava beans in my area so I substituted butter beans. I didn't have pumpkin pie spice in the house so I made my own from nutmeg, cinnamon, ginger and clove, making sure to use only 1 TBS of my spice mixture. I added double the chili powder. In the end, the dish was terribly underflavored. Adding salt at the table helped but wasn't enough. Next time I make this I will quadruple the chili powder, double the black pepper and add a bit of cayenne. I will also probably quadruple the amount of vegetable juice and add vegetable broth as well. Additionally I will add more spinach - we like spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Meatless Three-Bean Chili

See how to make a tasty vegetarian chili with three beans and corn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States