Vegetarian Pasties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2001
it's great and easy to understand
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
I have to admit that I was skeptical of lentil and potatoes together in pasties. But they were phenomenal! A bit of work to make the dough yourself, but I was quite proud of myself and my delicious meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
i made this and couldn't believe how good they tasted. it was a long time ago when i made them but just recently posted so i'd have to make them again to really refresh my memory...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOOLBRICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wall Township, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I made this for a Downton Abbey party I was hosting and all the people who tried, even those who aren't a big fan of lentils or vegetarians, loved it. I will say this however, I had too much filling and not enough dough. In fact, we doubled the amount of dough and still had filling left over. Not sure if this was me or the recipe though! Anyways, great taste and overall it was simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
These were so delicious, I don't even have any left!! I added steak sauce to my mixture. I diced up potatoes, onions and carrots very small, added sun dried tomatoes, salt and freshly cracked pepper. I added dried peas to the lentils while cooking. Tip, start cooking the lentils/peas first before starting anything else to save on time. Also, I could have doubled the dough recipe because I had so much filling left. I used a large biscuit cutter to cut out the dough. The addition of steak sauce really helped with any dryness and added some pizaz to the flavor. This is a comfort food keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Grozier R

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Hocking, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2006
These were good but could have used more filling. A bit too potato-y and the lentils seemed to blend in and disappear. I eliminated the onions and added peas and corn; would add more veggies next time. The dough came out very tasty. I whipped up a mushroom gravy for the leftovers and it was quite a bit like just biscuits & gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pesco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
I recently came across this recipe when looking for some variety to add to my family's meals. I am not much of a cook, and I expected my family to turn up their noses at this. However, this was a hit! The crust was very good. The filling recipe given is a good starting point but can be manipulated to suit individual tastes. I added cumin. This is definitely a "make again".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pumpkin girl
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
My husband and I both really liked this recipe, they reminded me of my mum's U.P. pasties :) I will definitely make them again. Like other people have said, I also made some changes to suit my tastes, and I actually like the fact that this recipe seems so versatile. First, I made the dough for the crust with half whole wheat and half all purpose flour, and I used a heart healthy light margarine instead of butter. I reduced the amount of olive oil sightly, added some fresh chopped garlic, used only two potatoes, and added some cauliflower and carrots. I chose to use (pre-soaked) green lentils 'cause they're the "beefiest" lentils ;) I also seasoned with a splash of Worcestershire sauce, mild garlic Tabasco sauce, and some pinches of oregano, marjoram, sage, and thyme. Brilliant!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pumpkin girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
These were great fresh, but very dry as leftovers. I made my filling by boiling the lentils in chicken broth, using seasoned salt and pepper instead of salt, and adding peas and corn. I also brushed them with egg whites before baking, and they were very good- but next time I may try freezing them individually before baking so I can have them freshly cooked when I want them. The crust is perfect, though, so I will enjoy making these again and trying to find a way to keep the filling more moist(or perhaps I will just serve with gravy as some other reviewers mentioned). Thanks for the tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fanciful Unicorn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
These were tasty, and would have been better with some brown gravy on the side. I added black beans into my mixture, as I did not have lentils. Next time I will follow the recipe better, and pre-cook my potatoes and they were not cooked all the way in the baking time. To be more authentic, rutabaga or turnip should be added!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coconutheather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Korma

This easy vegetarian Indian dish is rich, creamy and mildly spicy.

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States