Vegetarian Pasties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2001
Kind of bland. Filling but rather unispired. Needs work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2001
it's great and easy to understand
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
This recipe was a very good foundation, though I added Veat fake chicken, peas, cumin, and curry to the potato mix and brushed the outside with egg white and sprinkled with garam masala. Tasty with any variation, try adding peas, shredded cheese, chili powder or shallots to the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
These were pretty good - I also found them a little dry. I would recommend (and will try in the future) serving gravy on the side, since that's how these are served in Michigan. Should fix the dryness, but kill the vegetarian-ism. Some people (called 'tourists') also eat them with kecthup....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
very good i like it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2006
These were good but could have used more filling. A bit too potato-y and the lentils seemed to blend in and disappear. I eliminated the onions and added peas and corn; would add more veggies next time. The dough came out very tasty. I whipped up a mushroom gravy for the leftovers and it was quite a bit like just biscuits & gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pesco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
I really love the concept here, but something was off. I agree that they were dry, but I would add that they were really, really bone dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
I have to admit that I was skeptical of lentil and potatoes together in pasties. But they were phenomenal! A bit of work to make the dough yourself, but I was quite proud of myself and my delicious meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
i made this and couldn't believe how good they tasted. it was a long time ago when i made them but just recently posted so i'd have to make them again to really refresh my memory...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOOLBRICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wall Township, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
I was not very impressed with this recipe. I had pasties in Wisconsin when visiting my parents and they were much better (granted, they had meat in them). I found the filling to be very starchy and dry the first time I made it following the directions exactly so I made some changes the second time. I followed some of the other review's suggestions about reducing potato (I only ended up using one) and adding peas and carrots- I boiled 1/2 cup dry split peas and 1/4 cup chopped carrot in 4 cups of water for 15 minutes, then added the lentils and boiled for another 30 minutes. I also added about 3 cloves of garlic to the onion saute. The dough was excellent, but it was too wet at first and I had to knead more flour into it. The second time I added the water gradually and didn't use all of it. Next time I will probably cut up a potato, rinse it a few times to decrease the amount of starch, and then boil it instead of baking it. I might bake some cheddar into it as well. I think there is a lot of potential to this recipe but even with the flavors I tried to add the second time it was still pretty dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Vegetarian Korma

This easy vegetarian Indian dish is rich, creamy and mildly spicy.

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States