Vegetarian Open Faced Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
I lightly grilled the eggplant, onions, mushrooms and red peppers. I also used fresh mozzarella. My family loved it and we will certainly make again. I agree with others that a good quality bread should be used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
Very good! Just make sure that you use a really high quality bread for this sandwich! I didn't change a thing and it turned out great:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
I made a few changes and loved the delicious results. I substituted goat cheese for the mozzarella, grilled the eggplant, omitted the onion and grilled the sandwich. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
I used olive tapenade instead of pesto and no goat cheese,sharp cheddar instead.I also used Ciabatta bread...fantastic!!! Be sure to add enough salt and pepper. Pepper totally makes this sandwich. Maybe next time a bit of Balsamic? It's a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I grilled eggplant, red pepper and onions before assembling the sandwiches and then grilled the assembled sandwiches as well. I also lightly toasted the bread. I pan fried the mushrooms in some light olive oil. My husband, who doesn't like vegetarian meals, loved this and asked for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
I sauteed the mushrooms and eggplant before broiling, and this was delicious! I don't prefer peppers or onion so I omitted those. I sparingly used shredded cheese. I definitely recommend this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
I substituted slices of summer squash for the mushrooms and spread crushed garlic on the bread instead of the pesto. Absolutely delicious and so fresh tasting! A great summer meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I used Weight Watchers sandwich rounds, and this sandwich has now become my favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie Ginther Brauns
Living In: Highland, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
soo good! I sauted the onions and peppers and broiled the eggplant by itself first. I don't like mushrooms so I left that out, assembled the sandwich and broiled for a few mins till the cheese was melted. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Chickpea Sandwich Filling

This quick-and-easy sandwich spread is a great alternative to tuna salad.

Grilled Mediterranean Vegetable Sandwich

See how to make a roasted eggplant and portobello mushroom sandwich.

Cucumber Sandwich

This healthy cucumber sandwich stars avocado, pepperoncini, and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States