Vegetarian Open Faced Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
This sandwich did not turn out well for me, following as the recipe was written. Broiling eggplant for 5 minutes underneath several other vegetables does not allow the eggplant to cook at all. In the end, I took the sandwiches apart, broiled the eggplant on it's own, then reconstructed the sandwiches. If you like cooked eggplant vs raw, I would recommend either frying the eggplant in a little bit of oil on stovetop or placing, lightly salted, under the broiler prior to making sandwiches. Our sandwiches turned out okay after I cooked the eggplant. I didn't have any mushrooms or red pepper, but the sandwich turned out perfectly fine in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
Excellent sandwich that's easy to put together and tastes great! I grilled the veggies and the bread. I mixed some olive oil along with garlic, salt, oregano and basil and brushed that over everything and placed it on the grill. I assembled the sandwich adding fresh mozzarella and a bit of balsmic vs. pesto. Overall, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
I love this sandwich! I made my own pesto sauce from the Vegan Sun-Dried Tomato Pesto recipe on here. I sliced the eggplant with my mandoline slicer, sweated it for an hour, rinsed and dried, brushed with olive oil, then grilled it. (I followed the method from finecooking.com How to Cook Eggplant). I'm so glad I took the time to grill the eggplant--I'm sure it's great as is, but I need cooked eggplant for other recipes and it is delicious that way! I left out the onion and used grilled globe squash instead of the mushrooms. I also had to sub cheddar instead of mozzarella. I made two sandwiches so I could have one for lunch tomorrow at work and I wanted to eat the second one as well! My oven broils on high and low, and 5 minutes on low broil was perfect for this sandwich. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
soo good! I sauted the onions and peppers and broiled the eggplant by itself first. I don't like mushrooms so I left that out, assembled the sandwich and broiled for a few mins till the cheese was melted. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
Very good! Just make sure that you use a really high quality bread for this sandwich! I didn't change a thing and it turned out great:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
I used olive tapenade instead of pesto and no goat cheese,sharp cheddar instead.I also used Ciabatta bread...fantastic!!! Be sure to add enough salt and pepper. Pepper totally makes this sandwich. Maybe next time a bit of Balsamic? It's a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
I lightly grilled the eggplant, onions, mushrooms and red peppers. I also used fresh mozzarella. My family loved it and we will certainly make again. I agree with others that a good quality bread should be used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
I accidentally forgot to add the spices (basil and oregano) and only had brick cheese but it still turned out excellent. VERY GOOD recipe. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I used Weight Watchers sandwich rounds, and this sandwich has now become my favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie Ginther Brauns
Living In: Highland, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I grilled eggplant, red pepper and onions before assembling the sandwiches and then grilled the assembled sandwiches as well. I also lightly toasted the bread. I pan fried the mushrooms in some light olive oil. My husband, who doesn't like vegetarian meals, loved this and asked for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Chickpea Sandwich Filling

This quick-and-easy sandwich spread is a great alternative to tuna salad.

Grilled Mediterranean Vegetable Sandwich

See how to make a roasted eggplant and portobello mushroom sandwich.

Cucumber Sandwich

This healthy cucumber sandwich stars avocado, pepperoncini, and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States