Vegetarian Open Faced Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
When I told my husband I was cooking eggplant for dinner, he actually groaned in protest. He is a meat and potatoes guy and eggplant is too "exotic". He devoured two helpings and said he was pleasantly surprised and kept talking about how good it was. I toasted Ezekial bread in the toaster first and used Classico pesto for the spread (it tastes amazing). I cooked the eggplant on our grill along with the veges. Brushed them all with an olive oil infused with meyer lemon. Popped the sandwich in the center of the oven on broil as instructed. Can't wait to cook this for my vegetarian son and his fiancé. This will be a standard in our family for a long time to come. Thank you for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Partrick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Sandwich was stacked too high and got too close to my broiler flame, resulting in some charring. All in all, flavor not worth the effort on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
tough to fit everything on the sandwich...use swiss cheese imo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Soooo yummy! I cooked (sautéed) all veggies except for the tomato & mushrooms a bit beforehand. Everything else was as in the recipe. I can't wait to have this again!!! Super yummy & healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cosmicfuzz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
Very hearty veggie sandwich that makes for a nice dinner. Husband's only complaint was that he wanted a slice of bread on top. It was already tall so you'd need a big mouth to eat it that way! :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momsy 'n Popsy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
make sure to cook the eggplant,onions and mushies first
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
I made this for the first time for my boyfriend his sister and her husband who all eat meat. Im a vegetarian, we left out the onions but it was a huge success!! Evryone loved it and kept complimenting me! I gav credit to all recipes. Love this site! You rally do need to broil the eggplant for atlas five to ten minutes. Wile I I'd that I sauted the green peppers, added the mushrooms a few minutes later, with crushed garlic, when the eggplant was pretty much cooked I put the sour dough bread in the oven to toast for a few minutes. Then took it out put everything on it and ut it back into the oven to warm everything up and melt the mozzarella. Will make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
This was very good - I definitely agree with many of the other reviewers who grilled or sauteed their veggies first. If you layer raw veggies I don't think they would all cook properly, even if sliced very thin. I omitted the tomato, used fontina cheese instead of mozzarella and a multi-grain ciabatta bread. I did think it needed a little drizzle of balsamic vinegar, but otherwise I really enjoyed this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
My meat eater boyfriend even said this was good! I did like others suggested and cooked the eggplant before I added it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by threemore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
Excellent sandwich that's easy to put together and tastes great! I grilled the veggies and the bread. I mixed some olive oil along with garlic, salt, oregano and basil and brushed that over everything and placed it on the grill. I assembled the sandwich adding fresh mozzarella and a bit of balsmic vs. pesto. Overall, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Chickpea Sandwich Filling

This quick-and-easy sandwich spread is a great alternative to tuna salad.

Grilled Mediterranean Vegetable Sandwich

See how to make a roasted eggplant and portobello mushroom sandwich.

Cucumber Sandwich

This healthy cucumber sandwich stars avocado, pepperoncini, and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States