Vegetarian Nori Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
To the person who said not to wash your rice: Japanese always wash their rice (multiple times) as sushi rice is not supposed to be "sticky" but holds together just enough for preparing the recipe. Also, real sushi rice is a mixture of rice combined with seasoned rice vinegar before it is spread over the nori which gives it it's consistency for sushi. This is OK for an "Americanized" version of sushi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
The recipe was yummy!! I added some spicy paste in the roll and it was even better!! my rolling skills need practice though:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Johnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Great dish. I had a hard time getting the seaweed to stick together but other than that it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
NOTE: avoid using metal utensils to scoop rice. This can alter the taste of the rice due to the vinegar. If you do not want to use your hands, use a wooden or plastic spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BehindTheCanon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
VERY nice! I had a Japanese treat right at home and this gave me the courage to try other veggies as well! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JustDMarine

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
There are soy sushi wrappers available for people who don't like the taste of nori. You can find them in asian stores sometimes and online (amazon.com has some).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
I'm giving the a 5 b/c I think it tasted good for sushi (I personally am so-so on sushi but don't think it deserves a lower rating b/c of personal preference). I had trouble keeping it together once I made it, but in general thought it was easy to initially assemble. I like all of the fresh and healthy ingredients that go into it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
Pretty freaking awesome. It took me a while to figure out how to roll sushi, because I've never made it before and had no clue, but after googling it it worked rather well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mica Jade

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Leonard, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
This was my first time making and eating nori rolls...it was a lot of fun! But, I've found I'm not too keen on nori. That aside, I think anyone enjoying nori would like this recipe. Although the rice vinegar also seemed a little strong. I might suggest the newbie forego the rice vinegar for the first bite. Fun recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RachtheBach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jasper, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Making Spicy Tuna Rolls

Learn how to make spicy tuna sushi rolls at home.

How To Make Sushi Rolls

Find out how to make fresh, delicious sushi rolls.

Making California Rolls

Learn how to make delicious California sushi rolls at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States