Vegetarian Meatloaf with Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
I veganized this by using unsweetened soy milk and flax meal eggs. Even though I cooked it a bit longer, some of the onions hadn't softened. The next time I will sautee them first but I thought it was really great. I also used ketchup on top - my husband likes it this way. This is a keeper in my estimation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
I made this last night for dinner. My hubby, who is a meat eater, didn't know the difference. I am so impressed by how delicious it was. This is absolutely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anderson, Indiana, USA
Living In: Scottsboro, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
Because I could only find meatless crumbles, this didn't hold together well. It was still just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
ok, so its still in the oven, but I couldn't resist taking a tiny bite. SO delicious! I used two packages of veggie crumbles, and used regular bread crumbs. I found a recipe for home made vegan worchesershire sauce, and used that. I put catsup in the meatloaf itself, instead of on top(thats how my mom used to make it). I ended up using a little more "worchestershire sauce" than the recipe called for, but I cut back on the salt in it, so the flavor is amazing. I didn't have any carrots, so I am only roasting potatoes along side it. I can't wait til dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
My husband and I enjoyed this. I subbed ground flax for the eggs, panko for the cubed bread. I added sauteed grated carrot and green pepper (cooked the onion, too) chopped mushrooms, about 1/4 cup freshly grated asiago to the mix and used jarred pasta sauce instead of milk. Basically like I made meatloaf 30 years ago. A nice change from the regular lentil or bean loaf I usually make. I used the ketchup/brown sugar/mustard on top (I'd never tried that before and liked it.) I think BBQ sauce might be a good topping, too. I made 1-1/2 times the recipe and baked in two bread pans. Mine did not fall apart. I didn't roast the vegetables, but served it with scalloped potatoes, salad, and peas. Good comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sheffield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Impressive! My dad, who has high cholesterol and triglycerides, loves his beef and scorns vegetarian food. I made this for him without saying it was vegetarian, and he raved about it... in fact, he likes it more than my mom's real meatloaf!! I used more than half a 14 oz package of Gimme Lean sausage, along with 10 oz of Boca burgers, thawed and crumbled, for the 12 oz burger crumbles, and I reduced the ground sage to 1/4 tsp. I also added some onion powder, ground thyme, white pepper, and a sprig of fresh rosemary (chopped). Also used a ketchup topping as suggested by others (1 C ketchup, 1 tsp mustard, 2 tbsp brown sugar) and cooked in 9x5 loaf pan (no need to spray). I roasted my veggies in a separate pan, putting them in the oven with 15 min left for the meatloaf. Then, I raised the oven temp to 450 to finish off the veggies as the meatloaf rested for 15 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
WOW!!! This is excellent!! I made a few minor changes. I used the sausage variety of Gimme Lean, used basil in place of sage, and used ketchup instead of tomato sauce. It came out hearty and delicious! You won't be disappointed with this recipe. I would recommend seasoning and putting butter or oil on the veggies though, instead of just cooking spray. Mine came out very dry...still good, just dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Very good and hearty. Easy to make, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Quito, Pichincha, Ecuador

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
This was DElishious! I did have to make a few changes because I didn't have everything on hand. I used 1 pkg. of boca crumble and 4 boca sausage patties, onion powder instead of onions, and did not have any vegetarian worch. sauce. (I'm going to have to track that down because I had no idea it exsisted!) This was a very filling dinner, and the leftovers are even better the next day. I'm going to try it out on some of my meat eatting friends and get their opionion, but in our book it's a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
I've been vegetarian for 16 years so I don't really remember how meatloaf tastes, but this is a great tasting recipe that my husband who just recently became vegetarian said does indeed taste like meatloaf. The only issue is it does fall apart and I'm not sure how to correct that problem. I followed the directions exactly except used the 1/2 c ketchup, 2 tsp mustard and 4tbs brown sugar topping instead of tomato sauce. I found that the extra salt called for in the recipe makes it a bit too salty. Both my kids liked it so it gets 5 stars from me, but I would've given it a 4 for taste and texture. I also used mashed potatoes and steamed carrots to save cooking time so it ended up only needing 30 min. total. Overall, good winter time recipe, very savory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States