Vegetarian Meatloaf with Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
This super hit the spot when I was craving "mom" food. I ditched the roasted veggies on the side and made mashed potatoes and green beans instead. I nixed the Worcestershire sauce and spiced it up with a little french onion soup mix and a little bit of soy sauce (which just makes it taste a little meatier). Instead of morningstar crumbles I used dry tvp that I reconstituted - the meatloaf didn't brown so great as a result, it looked quite pink but it was delicious regardless. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
I entered a meatloaf cooking contest at work and secretly entered with this recipe. I came in 2nd place and no one knew it was vegetarian! The secret is using fresh herbs (esp fresh sage, tarragon, and rosemary), the ketchup glaze mentioned in the comments below, and using the sausage style smart ground. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
Good recipe but I would use twice the amount of tomato sauce and add garlic and butter to the roasted vegetables. Otherwise it was a wonderful addition to our favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J Walter Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pleasanton, California, USA
Living In: Seville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
This turned out wonderfully! My b/f (not a vegetarian) said it could prob pass for regular meatloaf. I halved the recipe and used fresh garlic and sage. It is fine as is, but next time I will experiment with more fresh herbs and spices (maybe some parsley and thyme?). The only drawback, nothing to do with its flavor, is that it did not pass the slicing test. It was less of a loaf and more of a crumble. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
We loved this recipe! We substituted the sausage style gimme lean and used both bredcrumbs and bread cubes. We found the vegetables to be on the dry side as well so decided the second time to bake the meatloaf in a standard loaf pan and cook the vegetables on the side. Wonderful. I will use this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
This recipe was greeted with rave reviews! My housemates were head over heels for the meat-like texture and saltiness of this meatloaf. Ours didn't turn out dry at all. It was actually very juicy... perfect. I've never had meatloaf before, but I was told that this is as close as you could probably get. Great recipe; I have no doubt i'll be using it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pennington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
This is definitely the best vegetarian meatloaf I've ever had. I've tried other recipes but this is the only one that actually feels and tastes like meatloaf. My husband is still a meat eater and he loves this recipe. The veggies can get dry, but if you put extra tomato sauce on them they stay moist. The best thing is that any leftovers can be made into sandwiches the next day (if there ARE any leftovers).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2005
Hated it. And I'm a vegetarian and regularly cook with meat substitutes and love them. But didn't like this recipe at all. Maybe it's for the 'meat' lovers who are looking for something that 'resembles' the meat dishes they like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2005
I have been eating and makeing vegetarian recipes for years and i can honestly say that this is one of the best loaf's that i have ever tasted. Very flavorfull and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
Best meatless meatloaf I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States