Vegetarian Meatloaf with Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2001
This was a big hit at a dinner party with many meat eaters & children too. I have made it twice and plan to keep it in the favorite recipe category for the family! I made a sauce out of ketchup, mustard and brown sugar for the top - Mostly ketchup,little mustard and little brown sugar. I also baked it in a loaf pan for 1 hr 15min. GREAT recipe! enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
We loved this recipe! We substituted the sausage style gimme lean and used both bredcrumbs and bread cubes. We found the vegetables to be on the dry side as well so decided the second time to bake the meatloaf in a standard loaf pan and cook the vegetables on the side. Wonderful. I will use this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2001
I love one dish meals like this so this was a good one for me!!Definately will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2004
my husband and i have not had meatloaf in 13 years when we quit eating meat. this was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2004
I tried this recipe for the first time with a group of thirty folks. I multiplied it by 4 and it made two fabulous and beautiful "loafs" Every bit was eaten in one sitting with this group! I followed some of the suggestions regarding the topping (I used the one with ketsup and brown sugar) - and it looked and tasted great. I also replaced the potatoes with broccoli and the cut carrots with the mini-carrots that are easily available in most grocery stores. Though many in our group were NOT vegetarians, they all loved this dish and a few asked for the recipe. Some had never even heard of the Gimme Lean "pretend meat". By the way this recipe was very very easy, compared to many I have done with groups. Thank you, Renee, for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
This was a big hit with my family. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Oxnard, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
Best meatless meatloaf I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2005
I have been eating and makeing vegetarian recipes for years and i can honestly say that this is one of the best loaf's that i have ever tasted. Very flavorfull and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
This is definitely the best vegetarian meatloaf I've ever had. I've tried other recipes but this is the only one that actually feels and tastes like meatloaf. My husband is still a meat eater and he loves this recipe. The veggies can get dry, but if you put extra tomato sauce on them they stay moist. The best thing is that any leftovers can be made into sandwiches the next day (if there ARE any leftovers).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
This recipe was greeted with rave reviews! My housemates were head over heels for the meat-like texture and saltiness of this meatloaf. Ours didn't turn out dry at all. It was actually very juicy... perfect. I've never had meatloaf before, but I was told that this is as close as you could probably get. Great recipe; I have no doubt i'll be using it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pennington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

See how to make a top-rated meatloaf that’s quick and easy.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States