Vegetarian Meatloaf with Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
My boyfriend thought he'd gone back to a school cafeteria when he was served the sauteed veg, mashed potatoes with onion gravy and the 'meat' loaf. He doesn't like beef and I don't eat any meat and we both loved this! Our dinner guest who eats meat thought it was real meatloaf, plates were nearly licked clean. I used half Gimme Lean sausage and half beef and a whole bag of Quorn burger crumbles and cooked it in a loaf pan sans vegetables. (froze the two halves of Gimme Lean for the next round) I used 1 1/2 cups Japanese style panko bread crumbs instead of homemade as I'm used to putting crushed crackers in my meatloaf from the old days and the texture was perfect. I only used a couple of ounces garlic and Italian spiced tomato sauce on the top and it was more than enough since it was in a loaf pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
Excellent recipe - best non-meat meatloaf that I've had. Having roasted vegetables alongside makes it just like "Mom used to make".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
I'm not a vegetarian, but was looking for a lower calorie and healthier alternative to meatloaf - this was great! I loved the sage, would probably try the sausage style meat substitute next time as someone else suggested. Great meat texture and flavor. This receipe should satisfy anyone who is craving meatloaf - thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
This super hit the spot when I was craving "mom" food. I ditched the roasted veggies on the side and made mashed potatoes and green beans instead. I nixed the Worcestershire sauce and spiced it up with a little french onion soup mix and a little bit of soy sauce (which just makes it taste a little meatier). Instead of morningstar crumbles I used dry tvp that I reconstituted - the meatloaf didn't brown so great as a result, it looked quite pink but it was delicious regardless. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
I entered a meatloaf cooking contest at work and secretly entered with this recipe. I came in 2nd place and no one knew it was vegetarian! The secret is using fresh herbs (esp fresh sage, tarragon, and rosemary), the ketchup glaze mentioned in the comments below, and using the sausage style smart ground. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
Good recipe but I would use twice the amount of tomato sauce and add garlic and butter to the roasted vegetables. Otherwise it was a wonderful addition to our favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J Walter Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pleasanton, California, USA
Living In: Seville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
This turned out wonderfully! My b/f (not a vegetarian) said it could prob pass for regular meatloaf. I halved the recipe and used fresh garlic and sage. It is fine as is, but next time I will experiment with more fresh herbs and spices (maybe some parsley and thyme?). The only drawback, nothing to do with its flavor, is that it did not pass the slicing test. It was less of a loaf and more of a crumble. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
We loved this recipe! We substituted the sausage style gimme lean and used both bredcrumbs and bread cubes. We found the vegetables to be on the dry side as well so decided the second time to bake the meatloaf in a standard loaf pan and cook the vegetables on the side. Wonderful. I will use this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
This recipe was greeted with rave reviews! My housemates were head over heels for the meat-like texture and saltiness of this meatloaf. Ours didn't turn out dry at all. It was actually very juicy... perfect. I've never had meatloaf before, but I was told that this is as close as you could probably get. Great recipe; I have no doubt i'll be using it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pennington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
This is definitely the best vegetarian meatloaf I've ever had. I've tried other recipes but this is the only one that actually feels and tastes like meatloaf. My husband is still a meat eater and he loves this recipe. The veggies can get dry, but if you put extra tomato sauce on them they stay moist. The best thing is that any leftovers can be made into sandwiches the next day (if there ARE any leftovers).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

See how to make a top-rated meatloaf that’s quick and easy.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States