Vegetarian Meatloaf with Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
I made this for 15 people and they all loved it! In fact, I also made MEATloaf and they rather have this recipe than the meat one. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
This was very good and a nice change of pace for a family that hasn't eaten meat in over 10 years. I did substitute 2tbsps ground flax seeds and water for the two eggs but followed the recipe otherwise. I would definitely make it again both as written and/or with variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
We were very pleased with this recipe. I am giving it 4 stars because I didn't follow it exactly. I omitted the vegetables and the tomato sauce. Instead I put 1/2 cup of chili sauce in the bottom of a loaf tin and then added the meatloaf (I pressed the loaf in attempts to avoid crumbling during slicing). I also added fresh tarragon, rosemary and sage. I used others suggestions and went down to 1 tbls of Worcestershire sauce. After cooking I let it sit for 15 minutes as suggested and then popped it out on a serving plate. It came out perfect. Some slices did crumble a little, but nothing to complain about. I will make this meatloaf again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MADCOOKS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
WOW! i made this for my vegetarian girlfriend, and we were both stunned at how amazing this dish was. didn't have the sage or garlic powder, but was still a perfect 10. this meateater is definately coming around to vegetarian cuisine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
used soy sauce instead of the worchestershire sauce, used bread crumbs instead of bread and used egg replacer for the eggs and this was a very very good meatloaf! thanks for the recipe :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Centerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
This recipe turned out pretty well. I didn't have the vegetarian worsteshire sauce, so I used soy sauce. I also used egg replacer to make it vegan. I also used ketchup instead of tomato sauce. It tasted pretty good, would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Broadview Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
I was surprised at how great this turned out and how easy it was. Instead of vegetarian ground beef and crumbles, I used what I had on hand -- 2 packages of Morningstar Sausage Crumbles, which has a little bit of spice to it already. I also replaced the bread with Ritz crackers, but otherwise I think I followed the recipe exactly. The vegetables were overdone, even though I added them half way through the cooking time, as other reviewers mentioned (I'll just cook them separately next time), but my fiance loved it, and I don't think I've ever had meatloaf this good, even before I was vegetarian. My fiance and his cousins have asked me to make this for the main course at Thanksgiving dinner this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
This recipe was very good. I used four slices of bread (crumbs), soy milk and no eggs and actually forgot to put the onions in...ooops. Everyone seemed to like this recipe but thought the sage was a little strong, so next time I will reduce the amount of sage. Definitely a keeper, thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cardell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
Hands down one of the best meals since becoming a vegetarian (9 months ago). I didn't ad ANY spices (other than salt and pepper) it was STILL wonderful! My kids LOVED IT and even my meat-eating/vegetarian-food-hating husband said it tasted like the real deal! I used a very simple brown sugar and ketchup glaze on top (like I did with 'real' meatloaf) and it was scrumptious. Can't wait to make it again! Thank you for the great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
This was delicious, and a big hit with my meat eating husband. I also used the ketchup/brown sugar sauce on top and cooked it in a loaf pan without the vegetables. I will definitely make this again. My only complaint is that the loaf was very crumbly -- we had to use a spoon to get it out. Maybe I should add another egg next time?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

See how to make a top-rated meatloaf that’s quick and easy.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States