Vegetarian Meatloaf with Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Valasca
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Both my husband and I enjoyed this thoroughly. I added fresh herbs including sage, rosemary and marjoram(about 2 tsp each), 2 cloves of fresh garlic (smashed and chopped), about 1.5 cups of breadcrumbs and topped with a ketchup/mustard/brown sugar glaze. I used a combo of 1 pkg Yves meatless ground and 1/2 pkg morningstar crumbles and it was quite tasty. The crumble pieces were bigger than the meatless ground and I think mixed together it gave it a nice meat-like texture (still not like ground beef of course). I put it together the night before and my husband threw it in the oven the next day so it would be done by the time I got home from work. I love coming home and dinner is already made!! (although I noticed it was grazed on before I got home) I don't think I would roast the veggies with the meatloaf next time since they were way overcooked and tasted dry and chewy. Some garlicky mashed potatoes would be much better! This recipe is definitely worth trying and I will make again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
I am guilty of never reviewing the wonderful recipes I read here..this one was way too good to pass up the chance to give CHEERS to......AWESOME and priceless......thank you soooo much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
Great recipe, only change I would make is to double the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
I veganized this by using unsweetened soy milk and flax meal eggs. Even though I cooked it a bit longer, some of the onions hadn't softened. The next time I will sautee them first but I thought it was really great. I also used ketchup on top - my husband likes it this way. This is a keeper in my estimation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
I made this last night for dinner. My hubby, who is a meat eater, didn't know the difference. I am so impressed by how delicious it was. This is absolutely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Wolfe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anderson, Indiana, USA
Living In: Scottsboro, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
Because I could only find meatless crumbles, this didn't hold together well. It was still just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
ok, so its still in the oven, but I couldn't resist taking a tiny bite. SO delicious! I used two packages of veggie crumbles, and used regular bread crumbs. I found a recipe for home made vegan worchesershire sauce, and used that. I put catsup in the meatloaf itself, instead of on top(thats how my mom used to make it). I ended up using a little more "worchestershire sauce" than the recipe called for, but I cut back on the salt in it, so the flavor is amazing. I didn't have any carrots, so I am only roasting potatoes along side it. I can't wait til dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
My husband and I enjoyed this. I subbed ground flax for the eggs, panko for the cubed bread. I added sauteed grated carrot and green pepper (cooked the onion, too) chopped mushrooms, about 1/4 cup freshly grated asiago to the mix and used jarred pasta sauce instead of milk. Basically like I made meatloaf 30 years ago. A nice change from the regular lentil or bean loaf I usually make. I used the ketchup/brown sugar/mustard on top (I'd never tried that before and liked it.) I think BBQ sauce might be a good topping, too. I made 1-1/2 times the recipe and baked in two bread pans. Mine did not fall apart. I didn't roast the vegetables, but served it with scalloped potatoes, salad, and peas. Good comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sheffield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Impressive! My dad, who has high cholesterol and triglycerides, loves his beef and scorns vegetarian food. I made this for him without saying it was vegetarian, and he raved about it... in fact, he likes it more than my mom's real meatloaf!! I used more than half a 14 oz package of Gimme Lean sausage, along with 10 oz of Boca burgers, thawed and crumbled, for the 12 oz burger crumbles, and I reduced the ground sage to 1/4 tsp. I also added some onion powder, ground thyme, white pepper, and a sprig of fresh rosemary (chopped). Also used a ketchup topping as suggested by others (1 C ketchup, 1 tsp mustard, 2 tbsp brown sugar) and cooked in 9x5 loaf pan (no need to spray). I roasted my veggies in a separate pan, putting them in the oven with 15 min left for the meatloaf. Then, I raised the oven temp to 450 to finish off the veggies as the meatloaf rested for 15 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
WOW!!! This is excellent!! I made a few minor changes. I used the sausage variety of Gimme Lean, used basil in place of sage, and used ketchup instead of tomato sauce. It came out hearty and delicious! You won't be disappointed with this recipe. I would recommend seasoning and putting butter or oil on the veggies though, instead of just cooking spray. Mine came out very dry...still good, just dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States