Vegetarian Meatloaf with Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
I've never written a review on here before but I just had to for this. My sister, mom and I are all vegetarian. I decided to try this recipe yesterday and it is FANTASTIC. I followed it exactly except for the glaze which I used around 1/2 cup ketchup, a squirt of mustard, and a little brown sugar as other users suggested. I also used 3 teaspoons fresh minced sage instead of dry ground. It turned out moist and stayed together perfectly. I baked it for an hour and 20 minutes and it turned out perfectly golden brown. I think those who are having problems with it being too crumbly should use the cubed bread instead of bread crumbs. It tasted even better than real meatloaf! We were amazed! Thanks for the keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
A1 is a great alternative to veggie Worcestershire sauce and easier to find.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Delicious "fake meat" type meatloaf. I cooked the carrots and potatoes separately. My only changes (due to what I had at home) were: Increased mustard to 2 Tbs, omitted Worcestershire sauce and used 2 tsp Sriracha sauce instead. This added a nice mild to medium spice level. And, I used catsup instead of tomato sauce on top. Delicious - would love to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
I printed this recipe in 2004 and I have been making it ever since! Vegetarian and non-vegetarian alike enjoy this. I use the Gimme Lean Sausage style "meat", but otherwise, prepare it as the recipe states. Thanks Renee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Used gimme lean sausage and 1pkg yves no gmo meatless ground. Did soy sauce instead of worcestershire. Used a cup crushed oyster crackers instead of bread. Used variation of tangy glaze with more sugar. Didn’t beat eggs. Put in casserole dish and did not make veggies. Cooked with potatoes au gratin for 1:10. Wow, really good. A tiny bit dry (forgot the milk) and could have been greasier imo. The sauce was still saucy/gooey on top not crispy. The crackers were dry not mushy. Good flavor. We all had seconds. I had more for lunch the next day-still good. Did not have a tendency to fall apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tash

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Very good. My wife gave it a 10. Had the Gimme Lean Sausage type instead of Beef type, so I left out the sage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by toddstanfield

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Florence, Alabama, USA
Living In: Jackson, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Based on all the glowing reviews I must have done something wrong. I prepared this for my daughter who is a vegetarian and I followed the directions exactly and neither of us liked it. All is not lost however - I'm going to recycle the meatloaf it into a pot of vegetarian Chile and the vegetables into Stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jay Westmark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
this was pretty good the only problem i had was that it fell apart but it was still yummy i did make a few changes to it that might be why. i only used half an onion in the loaf it seemed like a lot with just the half so i put the other half around the loaf with the potatoes and carrots and i couldnt find vegetarian worcertershire sauce but since i am a vegetarian that eats fish it wasnt a problem. i used almond milk instead of cows milk and i used the ketchup glaze (ketchup, dry mustard and brown suger) inside and on top of the the loaf
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veggiemom

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
I've never been a meatloaf fan, but it's my boyfriend's favorite. Since he's only a vegetarian because we live together, I do my best to make vegetarian meals reminiscent of what he's been accustomed to eating. This meatloaf was a hit! I thought since we'd have leftovers we could eat it for dinner the following night. When I arrived home he asked, "So what's for dinner tonight?" I said, "Oh, I thought the leftover meatloaf." He said, "Yeah... About that... I ate the other half of the pan today for lunch."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
My family loved this... I usually believe in trying a recipe the way it is before I alter it, but I was actually out of tomato sauce so I made my own glaze - 1/2 cup of Ketchup, 5 TB of Brown Sugar, 2 TB of Sun dried Tomatoes and 2 tsp of Sriracha sauce... Pretty creative hunh? It was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darryl Tattrie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States