Vegetarian Link Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
This is a pretty good recipe. I made it to go with my mashed cauliflower. I made two versions of this and I did not add the veggie sausage to none of them. The first one was a meat version and I added Turkey bacon and the other I did without meat. My father loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I was embarassed to serve this at Thanksgiving, sorry! It was so thick and really unappealing looking. No one touched it. (we have a couple vegetarians including myself). The flavor was lovely though. I made it the night before and it was thick, but I guess overnight it thickened a lot more. I also instinctively reduced the amount of oil. I wish I had read the reviews before hand, because adding a lot more broth might save it. I also added dried thyme. I also ran it through the food processor becasue the ground up chunks of the sausages was just unappealing for a Thanksgiving dinner table. So, will try again, tweaking it becasue the flavors are so lovely and hope to come back and make the rating higher. Also, may have to make immediately before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiesmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
It wasn't bad but WAY to salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I just don't think veg sausage gravy can ever be as good as the real thing. This recipe but with turkey sausage was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Amazing- tastes like the real thing! I used ground veggie sausage instead of links.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Awesome!!!!!!! I did only use 1/4 teaspoon of salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ezmars

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Sorry, my vegetarian family members thought this was o.k. I'm the meat eater and think this recipe would be good made with real meat and some adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chantilly, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
Loved it! I just sauted a shallot too to add to the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
Rated based on changes: Used 2 cups milk, not veg broth. Added margoram, sage, nutritional yeast and butter to the sausage as it was cooking. 4 heaping teaspoon-size spoons of flour. Served over buttermilk biscuit with a side of grits and a fried egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4n20blackbirds

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
This recipe far surpassed my expectations. I expected it to have the consistency of meat-based gravy, but to lack something in the flavor department. However, that is completely NOT the case. The only variation to the recipe I have made is using the vegetarian patties from Morningstar instead of the links. Once broken up and added to the gravy, you really would be surprised if you could find someone who could taste the difference between this and a meat-based sausage gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thejill

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vegetarian Gravy

Learn the tricks to making savory gravy using only vegetable fats.

Organic Homemade Baby Food

What's cooking in Ypsilanti? Brenda's yummy homemade baby food.

How to Cook with Wine

Build rich flavors in sauces and reductions by simply adding a splash of wine!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States