Vegetarian Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Francia
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
I give "my version" 5 stars! I made it vegan by using the tofu ricotta recipe but without straining the tofu and even adding some of the liquid and using fresh garlic instead of powder. I also used regular lasagna noodles. I chopped up onion, garlic, green & yellow squash, mushrooms, and broccoli. Added large can of crushed tomatoes and one regular can of stewed tomatoes and about half cup water. I also added some nutritional value by adding some macca powder & yeast flakes. I Let the veggies in tomato sauce stew while I cooked the noodles. Arranged in a baking dish as directed by putting one layer of noodles one of the red veggie sauce and one of the "ricotta" and repeated again with a new layer of noodles. Placed in the oven for about 45 min. And voila!!! Cruelty free lasagna that all my boys looved!!!! I guess I realize now I basically made a whole different dish from the original inspiration. I hope you all enjoy. I'll post a pic too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
This will fit in a large (11 x 15 inch) aluminum foil roasting pan. I used the recommended 9 X 13" size baking dish and I had too many ingredients left over. I sautéed the vegetables before placing in the pan. I also substituted 1 C non-fat sour cream, 1 C non-fat cottage cheese, about 1 C of shredded cheese and 2 eggs. I whisked the cheese mixture with the eggs and layered that on top of the vegetables. You need a liberal amount of tomato sauce (over 1 quart) so the no-bake lasagna has enough moisture. I will definitely use this recipe again with these changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by William Mihalo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
I actually completely modified this recipe. I didn't feel comfortable with not sauteeing the vegetables before I layered them in. So I just used the recipe on the bake of the no boil whole wheat lasagna noodles instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Pretty good! If I could I'd give it 3.5 stars but 4 works since it helped me to use up all the vegetables in my kitchen, and I love lasagna! I used pasta sauce instead of the diced tomatoes, and halved the amount of vegetables since reviews said there were too many. Instead of dicing the eggplant, I sliced it thinly so it would help to "layer" the dish, and I didn't use instant lasagna noodles (I used a half-box of regular noodles, like in traditional lasagna recipes), and I used canned spinach. I also added garlic, canned sliced mushrooms, onions, chopped green bell pepper, and some different spices but it was still pretty bland - add extra spices! With those changes my lasagna came out pretty good, I would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LashGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Added tomatoes, paste, & vegetable juice. Could have used more moisture for the noodles to cook. Cooked for over an hour. Couldn't fit all the vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I really changed up the whole thing and it was delicious. No noodles, no carrots, no summer squash, 2 eggplant, 3 zucchini, no broccoli, added sauteed onion, used cottage cheese instead of ricotta (that's what I had on hand), and topped it off with a swiss/ fontina mix. Bake covered at 350 for an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
My family loved this. Instead of eggplant I used mushrooms & used Italian seasoning & garlic on each layer. I took a piece to a coworker the next day who loves to cook & she wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
omit the Eggplant and Summer Squash. Use homemade Mariana sauce (or canned). Use 1/2 c Ricotta & 1/2 Firm Tofu drained dry and crumbled. May add additional small can of whole tomatoes well drained and diced. Use regular Cooked al a dente Lasagna Noodles. These changes give you a great Lasagna
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Upon making some changes I give it a 5 star..........I used zucchini,summer squash,eggplant,tomatoes,mushrooms and onions all sliced thinly. Made the noodles. Salted the eggplant.Peppered the zucchini. I used a jar of sauce. Mozzarella and parmesan sprinkles here and there...using 4 cups..dont forget the top! Baked for 45 mins..let cool for 10. There was nothing left over!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by niktor145

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
i shredded the veggies and sauted them a bit in some olive oil and garlic, mixed them with some canned chunky tomato sauce and it came out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Cheesy Vegetable Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy, saucy vegetarian lasagna that’s loaded with veggies.

Creamy Chicken Lasagna

Chicken and cream cheese star in this deliciously unique lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States