Vegetarian Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Francia
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
I give "my version" 5 stars! I made it vegan by using the tofu ricotta recipe but without straining the tofu and even adding some of the liquid and using fresh garlic instead of powder. I also used regular lasagna noodles. I chopped up onion, garlic, green & yellow squash, mushrooms, and broccoli. Added large can of crushed tomatoes and one regular can of stewed tomatoes and about half cup water. I also added some nutritional value by adding some macca powder & yeast flakes. I Let the veggies in tomato sauce stew while I cooked the noodles. Arranged in a baking dish as directed by putting one layer of noodles one of the red veggie sauce and one of the "ricotta" and repeated again with a new layer of noodles. Placed in the oven for about 45 min. And voila!!! Cruelty free lasagna that all my boys looved!!!! I guess I realize now I basically made a whole different dish from the original inspiration. I hope you all enjoy. I'll post a pic too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
This will fit in a large (11 x 15 inch) aluminum foil roasting pan. I used the recommended 9 X 13" size baking dish and I had too many ingredients left over. I sautéed the vegetables before placing in the pan. I also substituted 1 C non-fat sour cream, 1 C non-fat cottage cheese, about 1 C of shredded cheese and 2 eggs. I whisked the cheese mixture with the eggs and layered that on top of the vegetables. You need a liberal amount of tomato sauce (over 1 quart) so the no-bake lasagna has enough moisture. I will definitely use this recipe again with these changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by William Mihalo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
I actually completely modified this recipe. I didn't feel comfortable with not sauteeing the vegetables before I layered them in. So I just used the recipe on the bake of the no boil whole wheat lasagna noodles instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Pretty good! If I could I'd give it 3.5 stars but 4 works since it helped me to use up all the vegetables in my kitchen, and I love lasagna! I used pasta sauce instead of the diced tomatoes, and halved the amount of vegetables since reviews said there were too many. Instead of dicing the eggplant, I sliced it thinly so it would help to "layer" the dish, and I didn't use instant lasagna noodles (I used a half-box of regular noodles, like in traditional lasagna recipes), and I used canned spinach. I also added garlic, canned sliced mushrooms, onions, chopped green bell pepper, and some different spices but it was still pretty bland - add extra spices! With those changes my lasagna came out pretty good, I would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LashGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Added tomatoes, paste, & vegetable juice. Could have used more moisture for the noodles to cook. Cooked for over an hour. Couldn't fit all the vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I really changed up the whole thing and it was delicious. No noodles, no carrots, no summer squash, 2 eggplant, 3 zucchini, no broccoli, added sauteed onion, used cottage cheese instead of ricotta (that's what I had on hand), and topped it off with a swiss/ fontina mix. Bake covered at 350 for an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
My family loved this. Instead of eggplant I used mushrooms & used Italian seasoning & garlic on each layer. I took a piece to a coworker the next day who loves to cook & she wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
omit the Eggplant and Summer Squash. Use homemade Mariana sauce (or canned). Use 1/2 c Ricotta & 1/2 Firm Tofu drained dry and crumbled. May add additional small can of whole tomatoes well drained and diced. Use regular Cooked al a dente Lasagna Noodles. These changes give you a great Lasagna
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Upon making some changes I give it a 5 star..........I used zucchini,summer squash,eggplant,tomatoes,mushrooms and onions all sliced thinly. Made the noodles. Salted the eggplant.Peppered the zucchini. I used a jar of sauce. Mozzarella and parmesan sprinkles here and there...using 4 cups..dont forget the top! Baked for 45 mins..let cool for 10. There was nothing left over!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by niktor145

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
i shredded the veggies and sauted them a bit in some olive oil and garlic, mixed them with some canned chunky tomato sauce and it came out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Lasagna

Pair this rich, easy lasagna with a crunchy kale salad.

Cheesy Vegetable Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy, saucy vegetarian lasagna that’s loaded with veggies.

No-Noodle Zucchini Lasagna

See how to make a meaty, veggie-filled lasagna that’s completely gluten-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States