Vegetarian Korma Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 29, 2013
This recipe was so delicious! The ONLY problem i had was that the potatos and carrots took forever to cook. More like 30 minutes before adding the cream. Next time i will parboil them ahead of time. Also add the cream little by little otherwise you will have to simmer it longer too so that it can reduce. The flavour was amazing and i will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
Great tasting and colorful presentation. Made as written except for moderating the amount of salt (1/2 teaspoon rather than 2 teaspoons) as each serving has a high level of sodium. Otherwise, the seasoning was perfect. Vast majority of reviewers have commented that cooking time for potatoes is way off, and that is true. This is a definite make again dish. Next time cook the potatoes for about 15 minutes in advance, and the carrots 5-10 minutes, and then follow the recipe’s directions as written. May want to make other versions by subbing coconut milk for heavy cream, and/or adding chicken. A wonderful recipe, YAKUTA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: May 18, 2013
Delicious. I took the advice of some of the reviews and used coconut milk instead of cream. The flavor isn't quite what you get in Indian restaurants and I'm not sure what's missing, but it definitely is a delicious substitute. I cooked the potatoes ahead of time and next time, I think I'll cook the carrots first. I didn't use jalapeno because my fiance can't really do spicy. I'll probably experiment a bit next time to figure out how to get a stronger flavor, but I think this will be one of my go-to recipes for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
Indian cuisine is one of our favorites, so I was super excited to try this recipe! It turned out better than I expected! My one issue was getting the potatoes to cook. I used two heaping spoonfuls of hot curry powder and one spoonful of maharajah curry powder (I buy mine from Penzey's, super worth it, very flavorful!!) Next time, I'm thinking about omitting the potatoes and using garbanzo beans instead. I also think I will take note of a few of the other suggestions and use coconut milk instead of heavy cream and adding cauliflower to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
Absolutely delicious. My friends are kind of picky, so I used peppers, onions, sugar snap peas, and asparagus as my veggies. I agree with others on the cooking time for the potatoes - they take much more than 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inconsequential

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
Really very good and super easy. Will definitely make this again. However, I sensed something was missing once I began eating--raisins. It definitely lacks a sweet element. Other than that, absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
for me personally just a little bit too salty- but still a really great dish, especially awesome since the ingredients are so readily available and don't require a trip to a specialty store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
Good recipe recipe. Excellent with some tweaks. I found it a little underspiced and underseasoned (but this is of course a matter of taste). Tweaks: 1) I added an extra 1/2 tsp each of ground cumin, tumeric and coriander. 2) I added 1 tbsp brown sugar 3) I used light coconut milk instead of cream. 4) I added a little extra water during the cooking 5) I kept roughly the same amount of "stuff" but omitted potatoes. I used carrot, peppers, frozen green and yellow french beans and canned instead of frozen peas. I think you could used pretty much any veggie you fancy, really - I would like to try cauliflower next time. Healthy, flavourful, delicious!! I served it with brown basmati and grilled chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
This was a FABULOUS dish. I'M a vegetarian who's starting to expand her horizons and try different dishes from every part of the world. Loving Indian cuisine I found this gem while search for a new dinner idea. I must admit I had to tweak the recipe a bit, I added more curry, red crushed peppers, pepper & additional salt, cauliflower, mushrooms and tofu. It came out wonderful. This recipe receives a 5 star from me and my husband who was stuffed by the time he was able to see the bottom of his bowl. Thank you for sharing. C. love Jordan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Big Bear Lake, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
very good, and had the approval of 3 guests of Indian origins. I didn't have Tomato sauce so substituted with Tomato Paste. Used Coconut Milk and the heavy cream. I added the cream about an hour before serving to temper the jalapeno heat. Had no cashews but took another reviewer's suggestion of using slivered almonds. Used only green pepper as I had no red. Added extra cauliflower. All this goes to say that it's a very adaptable recipe. I served this as an Easter dinner with ham, homemade sourdough French bread, aloo tikki (brought by a guest), and broccoli - a real fusion of east and west. I have to say this makes a lot. Gave away lots to departing guests, and still have lots for leftovers for today and tomorrow and....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 606) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Korma

This easy vegetarian Indian dish is rich, creamy and mildly spicy.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

See how to make a hearty vegetarian main course.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States