Vegetarian Korma Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
This is a great recipe and I love to make it! I think it's a little too much potato, maybe I will cut it down next time. The potatoes also take at least 30 min to cook. I have made it with heavy cream before, but cut down to half and half this time to cut down the calories. I think it was even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Honey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Delicious and Satisfying dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christopher Wecks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Just finished eating this and all I can say is WOW! Easy to make and forgiving of a couple missing ingredients (jalapeño & cashews). I could eat this once a week. The spices are perfect. I had to sub in coconut milk as I had no cream in the house. I added the curry with the onions and the aroma was heavenly. I think this would also be great with some chicken added to it, but it is great without it. Make sure to finely dice the potatoes and they will be tender when everything else is ready. I served this over brown rice. Thank you for sharing this amazing recipe. My husband is still raving about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
This was my very first time eating/cooking this kind of food. It came out absolutely great! I loved it! Definitely making this again sometime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jose A. Guzman

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
We love Indian food and while I am not a novice cook, I wanted something fairly quick and easy but healthy too. Like others, I used coconut milk vs. cream. Also added garam masala and turmeric and threw in some cayenne because we like it spicy. Delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
GREAT recipe!!! Even my picky son loved it. The coconut milk idea was a winner, also. This is now a staple recipe for my household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
an easy, delicious dish that hits the spot for Indian flavors. you can mix and match veggies (I like cauliflower, potatoes, carrots, peas, peppers and chick pea, but you could use any combination) and if you chop everything the night before you can make it for a weeknight dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
Cooked this exactly as written except cooked the potato and carrot first, so they would get done as some folks complained about this. It was really an amazing dish. The prep time for this recipe is way off though. This recipe took me quite a bit longer than it says to chop all the vegetable, but was certainly worth the effort in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chickadee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beloit, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Well I'm brown so my expectations may not have been realistic for this recipe. I made it as originally written with some spice modifications the first time and the favors were pretty bland for what I'd expect from a korma. Still the base recipe is a GREAT starting point if one adds liquid with the starch so the potatoes cook properly. The second time I more than doubled the spices (cumin, garam masala, turmeric powders), bay leaf, small cinnamon sticks, garlic, ginger and sautéed all to release flavor as first step even before the onions - I remember my grandma cooking this way. Skipped dairy and used tomatoes to create the curry - I guess this is North Indian flavoring. I referenced the chicken korma recipes for inspiration too. And then at the end I heated the cardamom pods in a dry sauce pan to release the flavor and added five or six pods to the korma. Next time ill try with fish when I having an "animal protein day", which I do once a week. Pretty much any hearty veggie can be added to this recipe for a yummy dish. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
It's a good base but needs way more seasoning. I ended up tripling the curry powder, using coconut milk instead of cream and tomato sauce and used only 2 tablespoons of cream to help thicken the juices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 693) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Korma

This easy vegetarian Indian dish is rich, creamy and mildly spicy.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Meatless Stuffed Peppers

Peppers are filled with rice, veggies, and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States