Vegetarian Korma Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
Really very good and super easy. Will definitely make this again. However, I sensed something was missing once I began eating--raisins. It definitely lacks a sweet element. Other than that, absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
for me personally just a little bit too salty- but still a really great dish, especially awesome since the ingredients are so readily available and don't require a trip to a specialty store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
Good recipe recipe. Excellent with some tweaks. I found it a little underspiced and underseasoned (but this is of course a matter of taste). Tweaks: 1) I added an extra 1/2 tsp each of ground cumin, tumeric and coriander. 2) I added 1 tbsp brown sugar 3) I used light coconut milk instead of cream. 4) I added a little extra water during the cooking 5) I kept roughly the same amount of "stuff" but omitted potatoes. I used carrot, peppers, frozen green and yellow french beans and canned instead of frozen peas. I think you could used pretty much any veggie you fancy, really - I would like to try cauliflower next time. Healthy, flavourful, delicious!! I served it with brown basmati and grilled chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
This was a FABULOUS dish. I'M a vegetarian who's starting to expand her horizons and try different dishes from every part of the world. Loving Indian cuisine I found this gem while search for a new dinner idea. I must admit I had to tweak the recipe a bit, I added more curry, red crushed peppers, pepper & additional salt, cauliflower, mushrooms and tofu. It came out wonderful. This recipe receives a 5 star from me and my husband who was stuffed by the time he was able to see the bottom of his bowl. Thank you for sharing. C. love Jordan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Big Bear Lake, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
very good, and had the approval of 3 guests of Indian origins. I didn't have Tomato sauce so substituted with Tomato Paste. Used Coconut Milk and the heavy cream. I added the cream about an hour before serving to temper the jalapeno heat. Had no cashews but took another reviewer's suggestion of using slivered almonds. Used only green pepper as I had no red. Added extra cauliflower. All this goes to say that it's a very adaptable recipe. I served this as an Easter dinner with ham, homemade sourdough French bread, aloo tikki (brought by a guest), and broccoli - a real fusion of east and west. I have to say this makes a lot. Gave away lots to departing guests, and still have lots for leftovers for today and tomorrow and....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
Admittedly, I did make some changes suggested by other reviewers, but this was awesome! I increased the curry to 2 tbsp, added a sprinkle of garam masala and about 1/2 tsp cumin. I substituted light coconut milk for the heavy cream and added about 3/4 c cauliflower with the peas (but next time will add a few min earlier). I found that I needed to add some water while the potatoes were cooking to keep them from sticking and drying out. Next time I will add a little more garlic & cashews. Fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Using coconut milk (as the video suggested) left the korma slightly more watery than the kind I have in Indian restaurants but it was still very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Loved this. Flavorful, healthy, delicious. Subbed coconut milk (light), left out the jalapenos for the sake of the kids, and used ground ginger instead of fresh (it's what I had). The cashews and cilantro totally make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMWILSON98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dixon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I love this recipe so does the family. Only change I made was to use half and half rather than heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
Fixed it for friends last evening, it was creamy and delicious, a keeper. After reading reviews I made a few adjustments, here's what worked (note I doubled the recipe): • Use can of coconut milk AND small carton of heavy cream • Add cardamom and cinnamon • A little more ginger and a little more cashews • Use 5 yukon potatoes • Cook in crock pot for about 4 - 6 hrs on high but fry onions,garlic peppers and ginger in the oil until translucent first • Can add diced chicken breast and cook with the onions, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 612) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Korma

This easy vegetarian Indian dish is rich, creamy and mildly spicy.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

See how to make a hearty vegetarian main course.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States