Vegetarian Kofta Kabobs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2014
I would compare this to a falafal. As suggested in the recipe introduction, I tried this with chick peas instead of adzuki beans. At the mashing stage, I used a hand blender to get it somewhat smooth. I left out the egg, and cilantro (personal preference). I used a bit of french bread that was fresh so I left out the milk. Then I pan fried them in a small amount of oil and my method wasn't perfect because they did break apart a bit. We served them with Naan and garlic yogurt sauce (like tadziki). I'd never made anything with bulgur wheat so thank you for introducing me to a new ingredient. My daughter LOVED this dish, that is the seal of approval from our house. Wonderful recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
This is a great vegetarian option, but it needs some more flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
I thought these were very flavorful and very versitile. I ate them as the main course with other sides to accompany them, I ate them in sandwiches, in salads, ect.... I decided not to put them on kabobs. I baked them in the oven. A bit fragile, but tasty. I froze what I couldn't use right away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
I wanted to love this recipe, I am a big fan of Middle Eastern meals..falafel, bean patties, etc...I found these to be rather bland which I was not expecting based on the spices and the texture was a bit 'mushy' in the middle even with extra cooking time. I wouldn't use the recipe again, at least not without tweaking it a lot or maybe doubling the spices. Served with tzatziki sauce and hummus, which ended up saving the dish in terms of flavor profile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
Excellent!! We eat a lot of vegetarian patties but this one was great. Did not have any cilantro & used almond milk instead. Bake in the oven 30 min without using skewers just made small patties. Used just mustard as a condiment. Served with a baked potato and kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I substituted the bulgur for quinoa, and I'm not sure if it was the best idea. The flavour of these patties was outstanding, but they didn't firm up very well. You definitely need a good food processor to thoroughly mix and blend the ingredients. I didn't soak the bread in milk, because the bean mixture was super runny. Even after refrigerating the patties, they were sticky, and definitely couldn't be shaped on the sticks. They were absolutely delicious though, and I topped them with some yogurt and tahini. I'll definitely be making them again and I'll update this once I've tried it with bulgur.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Made them into small balls and after flipping I squished them down a bit. I also used a food processor to mix it all together. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
I really liked this! I soaked/cooked my adzukis - they take less time than other beans. I used extra garlic and hot sauce and they came out perfect. I squashed mine like small cookies - no skewers, and froze the leftovers. (I tried a few as larger patties and they didn't survive the flipping.) A yogurt dip is essential. This made for a very inexpensive and yummy meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
overall pretty tasty! i also used kidney beans and used my hand blender to make a thick mush of everything. i used an extra egg and added more hot sauce, onion and garlic. i omitted the milk for soaking the bread, just added crumbled dry bread. i made the balls in the shape and size that kibbeh/kofta usually is and put them on skewers (which was tricky) but it just seems best to make about golf ball size balls and forget the skewers. delicious with yogurt sauce, hummus, tabouli etc. as part of a meza dinner (instead of falafel, really) my husband and i both really liked this recipe and we'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pumpkin girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
very tasty and a great alternative for vegetarians. I used kidney beans in replacement of the others though and they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happy_haylee_3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kofta Kebabs

Ground lamb is marinated in fragrant spices and grilled on skewers.

Bison and Veggie Kabobs

Learn how to make lean bison and vegetable kabobs with couscous salad.

How to Make Meatless Meatballs

You really can make satisfying meatballs without the meat. See how it’s done!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States