Vegetarian Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
I made a few adjustments when I made this.... I used partially cooked instant brown rice instead of white and reduced the oven time to about 15 min. I find good quality canned tomatoes are often better than winter fresh tomatoes, so I substituted a 28 oz can diced tomatoes with most of the juices drained. I also doubled the garlic and chili powder and added a few shakes of cayenne chili sauce because I was out of the powder. With the modifications I made I definately give it five stars, it was a big hit and I will be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
This is delicious! I used brown rice, replacde one cup of the water with broth and doubled the spices. I also split it in half and added 2 links of cut up sausage to one of the halves for my husband. It made enough to serve as the main meal twice and then sides for a couple of others. This is a great one to make ahead as it tastes better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
This dish was excellent and is one I will be repeating often. The only things I did differently was to double the qty. of garlic, cayenne, and chili pepper. My family loved this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
Yum! This is a great way to make a healthier version of jambalaya. I used instant whole grain rice, cooked it, then followed recipe as instructed but only baked for 10 minutes. It was wonderful with sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SDower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
excellent recipe! The sour cream on top is key. It really completes the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
This recipe is outstanding. The only change that I made was to add more mushrooms. The heat of course can be increased by adding more spice. This is probably the best recipe I have encountered on this site. I will be including this recipe with credit to Lynn Marie on the arrogantchef website under outstanding recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cornwall, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
This was delicious! I did what others recommended and upped the amount of each of the spices. I also added vegetarian italian sausage and used vegetable stock instead of water (and used more than recommended). My boyfriend is a chef, so it's intimidating to cook for him, but he loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
My husband followed this recipe to a T and I was shocked by how yummy it was. Great with sour cream, we also wrapped leftovers in tortillas. This is getting a permanent rotation at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Wonderful! My advice: double the spices and add a few vegetarian sausages.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheektowaga, New York, USA
Living In: Amherst, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
This Jambalaya recipe is something my husband always requests. To save time, I precooked the rice, sauteed the veggies and added cubed tofu then mixed it all together and let simmer on the stovetop for ten to fifteen minutes. I also and a few splashes of worchester sauce for added dimension.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States