Vegetarian Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Wonderful! My advice: double the spices and add a few vegetarian sausages.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheektowaga, New York, USA
Living In: Amherst, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
This dish was excellent and is one I will be repeating often. The only things I did differently was to double the qty. of garlic, cayenne, and chili pepper. My family loved this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
Yum! This is a great way to make a healthier version of jambalaya. I used instant whole grain rice, cooked it, then followed recipe as instructed but only baked for 10 minutes. It was wonderful with sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SDower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
excellent recipe! The sour cream on top is key. It really completes the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
I made a few adjustments when I made this.... I used partially cooked instant brown rice instead of white and reduced the oven time to about 15 min. I find good quality canned tomatoes are often better than winter fresh tomatoes, so I substituted a 28 oz can diced tomatoes with most of the juices drained. I also doubled the garlic and chili powder and added a few shakes of cayenne chili sauce because I was out of the powder. With the modifications I made I definately give it five stars, it was a big hit and I will be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
This recipe is outstanding. The only change that I made was to add more mushrooms. The heat of course can be increased by adding more spice. This is probably the best recipe I have encountered on this site. I will be including this recipe with credit to Lynn Marie on the arrogantchef website under outstanding recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cornwall, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
This was delicious! I did what others recommended and upped the amount of each of the spices. I also added vegetarian italian sausage and used vegetable stock instead of water (and used more than recommended). My boyfriend is a chef, so it's intimidating to cook for him, but he loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
My husband followed this recipe to a T and I was shocked by how yummy it was. Great with sour cream, we also wrapped leftovers in tortillas. This is getting a permanent rotation at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
This is delicious! I used brown rice, replacde one cup of the water with broth and doubled the spices. I also split it in half and added 2 links of cut up sausage to one of the halves for my husband. It made enough to serve as the main meal twice and then sides for a couple of others. This is a great one to make ahead as it tastes better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
This Jambalaya recipe is something my husband always requests. To save time, I precooked the rice, sauteed the veggies and added cubed tofu then mixed it all together and let simmer on the stovetop for ten to fifteen minutes. I also and a few splashes of worchester sauce for added dimension.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Everding

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States