Vegetarian Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
Excellent dish, enjoyed every bite. Used long grain brown rice to make it a bit healthier, and used a cajun spice blend instead of all the separately listed spices. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
We didn't really like this. Even with the spices doubled, we thought it was too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
So delicious - I cooked a quarter cup of lentils while I diced my vegetables for a little extra protein and upped the spices as many suggested. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
This is delicious, but it tastes more like a Mexican dish than one from the deep South. I spiced it up more and it still wasn't enough to give it a "jambalaya" flavor. Pretend it's a Mexican casserole and you'll be happy. I doubled the recipe because I wanted left overs, and I'm glad I did. To cut down on prep time, I used a Quisinart for the onion, celery, and peppers. I used 2 medium onions, 6 ribs of celery, and 3 medium green peppers. I also used cilantro rather than parsley. I probably quadrupled the spices but we still added Tobasco to give it more sing. If you've ever eaten one of Amy's Frozen Mexican dishes, this dish tastes and smells very much like Amy's. I topped it with non-diary cheese and some extra cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellenmoriah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Super easy to make- once all the chopping is finished! Doubling the spices was a great choice. I also added vegetarian sausage to the dish. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Love...love...love this. I made a few changes along the way by increasing the amount of chili powder to 1 t., and salt to 1/2 t. I had to use dried parsley so I used 2 T. I took it out of oven when there was 30 min left to bake and added 6 vegetarian sausage patties that I crumbled then topped it with 1 cup of soy pepper jack cheese. Then i baked for the remaining 30 minutes. I served it over French bread that I toasted under the broiler with butter and paprika. Super yummytabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
needs work. there is too much water so the rice turns to mush. not bad flavor with the sour cream and parm. cheese, but it needs more spices. it could also use something else.... not sure what. maybe some smart choice soy crumbles
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
This was pretty tasty, but it was missing something. I felt that as a main dish, it was too homogeneous. It needed some chunks of something to break it up. I've never had "real" jambalaya before, so I don't know if this is sacrilegious or not, but I think I'll add kidney beans next time to make it a bit more chunky. You could just cut the mushrooms bigger, but my husband doesn't really like mushrooms, so he is not keen on that option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
OMG! So Good! Followed recommendations to double spices, sub veggie broth and sub canned tomatoes. It was REALLY spicy. Don't double spices if you can't handle heat. Was perrrrrfect with sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
This is the second time in two weeks that I've made this! My husband, son and I really enjoy it. Tonight, I doubled the ingredients and used brown rice mixed with the white as I finished our white rice and needed another cup. I also made it all in a big saucepan on the stove, the way I usually make traditional jambalaya. This cuts out the baking portion of the recipe and the dish is ready sooner. Le bon temps rouler!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States