Vegetarian Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
This dish was excellent and is one I will be repeating often. The only things I did differently was to double the qty. of garlic, cayenne, and chili pepper. My family loved this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
I made a few adjustments when I made this.... I used partially cooked instant brown rice instead of white and reduced the oven time to about 15 min. I find good quality canned tomatoes are often better than winter fresh tomatoes, so I substituted a 28 oz can diced tomatoes with most of the juices drained. I also doubled the garlic and chili powder and added a few shakes of cayenne chili sauce because I was out of the powder. With the modifications I made I definately give it five stars, it was a big hit and I will be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
lovely recipe the only thing that i changed was how much water i made it for 2 and had one cup of rice to 1 1/2 cups of water it was perfect. thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Adrenalyne
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
This recipe turned out great! I doubled the garlic, cayenne and chili powder as other suggested but I baked it with raw rice as the recipe calls for, I used a whole grain & wild mixture, it took about an hour and a half to cook the rice through, and wow delish! I think next time I'm going to add some black beans and maybe some corn. Definitely seems like one of those recipes you could throw any veggies into. Was really yummy with the fresh tomatoes. I topped then witg the sour cream and parm. Can't wait to try the leftovers wrapped in a burrito with cheese for lunch tomorrow! Will definitely be making this one again. Great vegetarian supper :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrenalyne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
I love this with my modifications: yellow saffron and wild rice instead of regular long grain. canned tomatoes not strained, and soup broth instead of water. also i upped the seasoning and added some cumin. And I put it all in the slow cooker. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brittmichelle
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Delicious! I substituted some long grain brown rice, which added about 20 minutes to the cook time. Worth the extra few minutes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Villa Hills, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
This is a good dish for filling burritos or using up produce. I increased the spices and added cumin. I used cilantro instead of parsley because i love cilantro! I added fresh parmesan cheese and sour cream when serving. I did not make the rice ahead of time and it worked just fine. Other than all the chopping it was easy to make and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ophelia693

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
Yum! This is a great way to make a healthier version of jambalaya. I used instant whole grain rice, cooked it, then followed recipe as instructed but only baked for 10 minutes. It was wonderful with sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SDower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
exceeded my expectations. i will make this again. I doubled the spices as well, and i used chicked broth instead of water and added a can of red beans. not totally vegetarian, but mainly meatless. thanks so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
Delicious! I took the advice of some of the other reviewers. I upped all the spices and cooked the rice first and then put it all in the oven for about 10 minutes. Came out perfect! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Somma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Matawan, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Keyport, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States