Vegetarian Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Made this for dinner tonight. We were very pleased! This was really good! I took other reviewer's advice and doubled the spices and I thought it was perfect that way. I also omitted the mushrooms since I'm not a fan and substituted 3 morningstar farms Italian sausage links. This is going into our regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Delicious! I substituted some long grain brown rice, which added about 20 minutes to the cook time. Worth the extra few minutes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Villa Hills, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
I will keep this recipe as one to make occassionally although me and my kids liked it would like to have it again...my husband disliked it but I think that is just because he doesn't like rice or tomatoes which it had lots of both. Definitely a good recipe just not a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Iron River, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
This was okay to me. My husband and his friend loved it....not sure why I did not. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
My husband followed this recipe to a T and I was shocked by how yummy it was. Great with sour cream, we also wrapped leftovers in tortillas. This is getting a permanent rotation at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
This was delicious! I did what others recommended and upped the amount of each of the spices. I also added vegetarian italian sausage and used vegetable stock instead of water (and used more than recommended). My boyfriend is a chef, so it's intimidating to cook for him, but he loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
This recipe is outstanding. The only change that I made was to add more mushrooms. The heat of course can be increased by adding more spice. This is probably the best recipe I have encountered on this site. I will be including this recipe with credit to Lynn Marie on the arrogantchef website under outstanding recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cornwall, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
This was a wonderful meal! I used a teaspoon of each of the spices, baked the veggies for 20 minutes, added cooked brown rice and baked for 10 more minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
I made a few adjustments when I made this.... I used partially cooked instant brown rice instead of white and reduced the oven time to about 15 min. I find good quality canned tomatoes are often better than winter fresh tomatoes, so I substituted a 28 oz can diced tomatoes with most of the juices drained. I also doubled the garlic and chili powder and added a few shakes of cayenne chili sauce because I was out of the powder. With the modifications I made I definately give it five stars, it was a big hit and I will be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
Very good but needs more seasoning. Will try doubling all of the seasonings next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States