Vegetarian Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Made this for dinner tonight. We were very pleased! This was really good! I took other reviewer's advice and doubled the spices and I thought it was perfect that way. I also omitted the mushrooms since I'm not a fan and substituted 3 morningstar farms Italian sausage links. This is going into our regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Delicious! I substituted some long grain brown rice, which added about 20 minutes to the cook time. Worth the extra few minutes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Villa Hills, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
I will keep this recipe as one to make occassionally although me and my kids liked it would like to have it again...my husband disliked it but I think that is just because he doesn't like rice or tomatoes which it had lots of both. Definitely a good recipe just not a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Iron River, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
This was okay to me. My husband and his friend loved it....not sure why I did not. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
My husband followed this recipe to a T and I was shocked by how yummy it was. Great with sour cream, we also wrapped leftovers in tortillas. This is getting a permanent rotation at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
This was delicious! I did what others recommended and upped the amount of each of the spices. I also added vegetarian italian sausage and used vegetable stock instead of water (and used more than recommended). My boyfriend is a chef, so it's intimidating to cook for him, but he loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
This recipe is outstanding. The only change that I made was to add more mushrooms. The heat of course can be increased by adding more spice. This is probably the best recipe I have encountered on this site. I will be including this recipe with credit to Lynn Marie on the arrogantchef website under outstanding recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cornwall, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
This was a wonderful meal! I used a teaspoon of each of the spices, baked the veggies for 20 minutes, added cooked brown rice and baked for 10 more minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
I made a few adjustments when I made this.... I used partially cooked instant brown rice instead of white and reduced the oven time to about 15 min. I find good quality canned tomatoes are often better than winter fresh tomatoes, so I substituted a 28 oz can diced tomatoes with most of the juices drained. I also doubled the garlic and chili powder and added a few shakes of cayenne chili sauce because I was out of the powder. With the modifications I made I definately give it five stars, it was a big hit and I will be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
Very good but needs more seasoning. Will try doubling all of the seasonings next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States