Vegetarian Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Adrenalyne
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
This recipe turned out great! I doubled the garlic, cayenne and chili powder as other suggested but I baked it with raw rice as the recipe calls for, I used a whole grain & wild mixture, it took about an hour and a half to cook the rice through, and wow delish! I think next time I'm going to add some black beans and maybe some corn. Definitely seems like one of those recipes you could throw any veggies into. Was really yummy with the fresh tomatoes. I topped then witg the sour cream and parm. Can't wait to try the leftovers wrapped in a burrito with cheese for lunch tomorrow! Will definitely be making this one again. Great vegetarian supper :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrenalyne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
I love this with my modifications: yellow saffron and wild rice instead of regular long grain. canned tomatoes not strained, and soup broth instead of water. also i upped the seasoning and added some cumin. And I put it all in the slow cooker. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brittmichelle
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
I made this in the slow cooker (4h on high) with the following substitutions: -no olive oil -28oz can diced tomatoes (in sauce) -1/2c veg broth instead of 2c water -4T cajun seasoning (Tony's Chachere) instead of all the spices recommended in the recipe (from soy sauce to pepper) -1 lb tofurkey kielbasa I made the rice separately and mixed them together before serving. All in all, really great! The real recipe may be better than my substitutions, but I was trying to make it faster and easier for a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
I thought this was a good recipe. The sour cream just finishes it off. My only change was to add some vegetarian sausages and I used brown rice. Since I used the brown rice I added one more cup of water. It came out great! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
exceeded my expectations. i will make this again. I doubled the spices as well, and i used chicked broth instead of water and added a can of red beans. not totally vegetarian, but mainly meatless. thanks so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
This has become a staple side-dish in our house. Rave reviews every time we make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
This Jambalaya recipe is something my husband always requests. To save time, I precooked the rice, sauteed the veggies and added cubed tofu then mixed it all together and let simmer on the stovetop for ten to fifteen minutes. I also and a few splashes of worchester sauce for added dimension.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Everding

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
This is delicious! I used brown rice, replacde one cup of the water with broth and doubled the spices. I also split it in half and added 2 links of cut up sausage to one of the halves for my husband. It made enough to serve as the main meal twice and then sides for a couple of others. This is a great one to make ahead as it tastes better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Wonderful! My advice: double the spices and add a few vegetarian sausages.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheektowaga, New York, USA
Living In: Amherst, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
This was a very easy and great recipe! I didn't add mushrooms because I didn't have any, used a can of diced tomatoes instead of fresh and used brown basmati rice. Also, instead of baking it I just let everything cook together. The next day was even better, I will difinitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States