Vegetarian Haggis Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I tried this using the crock pot. I added 1/2 cup more veggie broth. For the spices I used a mix of gharam masala, cinnamon, nutmeg, and a tiny bit of turmeric. I put veggies in bottom of crock pot with a little coconut oil. I mixed the spices and sprinkled over the veggies. I used fresh thyme insdead of dried and chopped it with a little fresh parsley. Then I mixed the liquids including egg and poured over all. I cooked it on low in crock pot for 3 hours then served with a mushroom, onion gravy. Very good. Thanks for the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
Not my cup of tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
This was very tasty! Served this at our Bobby Burns dinner. I had a one pound REAL haggis,which all of us tasted and liked this cheap version just as much. Thanks for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macomb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Good haggis texture. Put more wet ingredients in to make it less dry which was better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Tried this and there must be some liquid missing OR instructions to cook the steel cut oats before adding them. One cup of steel cut oats require 3 cups of liquid - so 1/3 cup lentils and 1&1/3 cups of oats couldn't possibly cook in 1 cup of broth. I added 2 more cups of broth. The flavor was good, but not nearly spicy enough for us - I'd add much more cayenne and black pepper too. Otherwise it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
This was enormously popular at my book discussion club buffet (the book was "The Sunday Philosophy Club" by Alexander McCall Smith - a very Scottish story so haggis seemed appropriate). Recipe-tinkering notes: 1. I reduced the quantity of oats to 1 cup -- the additional 1/3 cup seemed excessive. 2. I simplified the mashing of beans and chopping of nuts by processing the kidney beans, peanuts and hazelnuts in a small amount of the broth in a blender, then briefly blending in the rest of the broth and the seasonings before adding it all to the cooked vegetables. 3. I ended up adding nearly twice as much broth as the recipe calls for, as the mixture seemed a bit dry as the steel-cut oats cooked. 4. I added some dabs of (vegan) margarine to the top of the mixture in the pan before baking. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
I added an additional 2 1/2 cups of broth when I added the oatmeal, as 3 1/2 cups of liquid made more sense with the amount of lentils and oats in the recipe than just the 1 cup listed. I also added 1/2 cup chopped tofu skins (can get these at an Asian market) for an "offal" effect. DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IronChefHarvey
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Delicious! It's been a while since I had real haggis, but I think this is a fair approximation, and all with veggies! It's quite easy (especially compared to traditional recipes) - no tracking down strange bits of offal, which are hard/impossible to find in the States. I was confused about the "mixed spice" and didn't even think of the pie spices other people have named, so I just ended up using a basil/oregano/sage mix and it was fine. I also subbed pecans for hazelnuts, since I had them on hand. One tough spot was that the mixture was too dry already when starting in on the 20 minute simmer, so I added water along the way to keep it from burning to the bottom of the pan and drying out. It also didn't set up into a real firm loaf, but served as a sort of hash was just fine. What matters is that its delicious. Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IronChefHarvey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
it's delicious & very nutricious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chachibald

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Sarah-May
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
This stuff is fantastic, I like to add garlic and for mixed spice use savory, caraway and sage. I usually replace the hazelnuts and peanuts with walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah-May

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Christopher Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Meatless Meatballs

You really can make satisfying meatballs without the meat. See how it’s done!

How to Plan a Meatless Monday

Keep flavor and variety--and your favorite dishes--while cutting out meat.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States