Vegetarian Haggis Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I tried this using the crock pot. I added 1/2 cup more veggie broth. For the spices I used a mix of gharam masala, cinnamon, nutmeg, and a tiny bit of turmeric. I put veggies in bottom of crock pot with a little coconut oil. I mixed the spices and sprinkled over the veggies. I used fresh thyme insdead of dried and chopped it with a little fresh parsley. Then I mixed the liquids including egg and poured over all. I cooked it on low in crock pot for 3 hours then served with a mushroom, onion gravy. Very good. Thanks for the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
Not my cup of tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
This was very tasty! Served this at our Bobby Burns dinner. I had a one pound REAL haggis,which all of us tasted and liked this cheap version just as much. Thanks for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macomb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Good haggis texture. Put more wet ingredients in to make it less dry which was better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Tried this and there must be some liquid missing OR instructions to cook the steel cut oats before adding them. One cup of steel cut oats require 3 cups of liquid - so 1/3 cup lentils and 1&1/3 cups of oats couldn't possibly cook in 1 cup of broth. I added 2 more cups of broth. The flavor was good, but not nearly spicy enough for us - I'd add much more cayenne and black pepper too. Otherwise it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
This was enormously popular at my book discussion club buffet (the book was "The Sunday Philosophy Club" by Alexander McCall Smith - a very Scottish story so haggis seemed appropriate). Recipe-tinkering notes: 1. I reduced the quantity of oats to 1 cup -- the additional 1/3 cup seemed excessive. 2. I simplified the mashing of beans and chopping of nuts by processing the kidney beans, peanuts and hazelnuts in a small amount of the broth in a blender, then briefly blending in the rest of the broth and the seasonings before adding it all to the cooked vegetables. 3. I ended up adding nearly twice as much broth as the recipe calls for, as the mixture seemed a bit dry as the steel-cut oats cooked. 4. I added some dabs of (vegan) margarine to the top of the mixture in the pan before baking. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
I added an additional 2 1/2 cups of broth when I added the oatmeal, as 3 1/2 cups of liquid made more sense with the amount of lentils and oats in the recipe than just the 1 cup listed. I also added 1/2 cup chopped tofu skins (can get these at an Asian market) for an "offal" effect. DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IronChefHarvey
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Delicious! It's been a while since I had real haggis, but I think this is a fair approximation, and all with veggies! It's quite easy (especially compared to traditional recipes) - no tracking down strange bits of offal, which are hard/impossible to find in the States. I was confused about the "mixed spice" and didn't even think of the pie spices other people have named, so I just ended up using a basil/oregano/sage mix and it was fine. I also subbed pecans for hazelnuts, since I had them on hand. One tough spot was that the mixture was too dry already when starting in on the 20 minute simmer, so I added water along the way to keep it from burning to the bottom of the pan and drying out. It also didn't set up into a real firm loaf, but served as a sort of hash was just fine. What matters is that its delicious. Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IronChefHarvey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
it's delicious & very nutricious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chachibald

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Sarah-May
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
This stuff is fantastic, I like to add garlic and for mixed spice use savory, caraway and sage. I usually replace the hazelnuts and peanuts with walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah-May

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Christopher Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Meatless Meatballs

You really can make satisfying meatballs without the meat. See how it’s done!

How to Plan a Meatless Monday

Keep flavor and variety--and your favorite dishes--while cutting out meat.

Meatless Stuffed Peppers

Peppers are filled with rice, veggies, and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States