Vegetarian Haggis Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sarah-May
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
This stuff is fantastic, I like to add garlic and for mixed spice use savory, caraway and sage. I usually replace the hazelnuts and peanuts with walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah-May

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Christopher Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
Since I've never had "official" haggis, I'm rating this as a vegetarian meal. It's delicious! I used oat groats instead of cut oats, and I know that next time, I'll have to go with cut oats because they will bind better with the other ingredients. Taste, flavor and texture wise, this is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
This is a really good vegetarian option. Served it with the traditional neeps(turnip) and tatties and it was a great success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ita

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Belfast, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Wow, this is delicious! I'm definitely including this as an option for our next Burns' dinner. I found I needed to add more water as the oats were cooking. I served it with packaged gravy. Scotch would also be good. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I don't know a thing about traditional haggis, but we certainly enjoyed this version! I used white kidney beans because I had them on hand. I substituted tahini for the ground peanuts and omitted the egg. I used a smidgen of cinnamon and allspice in place of the mixed spice. Even with my substitutions, it was terrific. We served it as we would meatloaf, so it only served 4. It was a little crumbly without the egg, but we didn't mind a bit; others may want to use it. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
This was excellent. My whole family loved it and it's not that much work as you can do the veggies and nuts in the food processor. I doubled the recipe and put it in a 13x9 pan and it made a ton. For the mixed spice, I threw in nutmeg, cinnamon, ground ginger, coriander and oregano. The recipe seemed quite forgiving, so you can be creative with the spicing. I served the haggis with a vegetarian gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
it's delicious & very nutricious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chachibald

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by IronChefHarvey
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Delicious! It's been a while since I had real haggis, but I think this is a fair approximation, and all with veggies! It's quite easy (especially compared to traditional recipes) - no tracking down strange bits of offal, which are hard/impossible to find in the States. I was confused about the "mixed spice" and didn't even think of the pie spices other people have named, so I just ended up using a basil/oregano/sage mix and it was fine. I also subbed pecans for hazelnuts, since I had them on hand. One tough spot was that the mixture was too dry already when starting in on the 20 minute simmer, so I added water along the way to keep it from burning to the bottom of the pan and drying out. It also didn't set up into a real firm loaf, but served as a sort of hash was just fine. What matters is that its delicious. Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IronChefHarvey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I tried this using the crock pot. I added 1/2 cup more veggie broth. For the spices I used a mix of gharam masala, cinnamon, nutmeg, and a tiny bit of turmeric. I put veggies in bottom of crock pot with a little coconut oil. I mixed the spices and sprinkled over the veggies. I used fresh thyme insdead of dried and chopped it with a little fresh parsley. Then I mixed the liquids including egg and poured over all. I cooked it on low in crock pot for 3 hours then served with a mushroom, onion gravy. Very good. Thanks for the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
Pretty good. I think I'd prefer it as little patties. For the 'mixed spice' I used a combination of cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice, cloves, ginger, coriander, caraway, and cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kareno

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marlette, Michigan, USA
Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Meatless Meatballs

You really can make satisfying meatballs without the meat. See how it’s done!

How to Plan a Meatless Monday

Keep flavor and variety--and your favorite dishes--while cutting out meat.

Meatless Stuffed Peppers

Peppers are filled with rice, veggies, and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States