Vegetarian Haggis Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
This was excellent. My whole family loved it and it's not that much work as you can do the veggies and nuts in the food processor. I doubled the recipe and put it in a 13x9 pan and it made a ton. For the mixed spice, I threw in nutmeg, cinnamon, ground ginger, coriander and oregano. The recipe seemed quite forgiving, so you can be creative with the spicing. I served the haggis with a vegetarian gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I don't know a thing about traditional haggis, but we certainly enjoyed this version! I used white kidney beans because I had them on hand. I substituted tahini for the ground peanuts and omitted the egg. I used a smidgen of cinnamon and allspice in place of the mixed spice. Even with my substitutions, it was terrific. We served it as we would meatloaf, so it only served 4. It was a little crumbly without the egg, but we didn't mind a bit; others may want to use it. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
Pretty good. I think I'd prefer it as little patties. For the 'mixed spice' I used a combination of cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice, cloves, ginger, coriander, caraway, and cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kareno

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marlette, Michigan, USA
Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
Since I've never had "official" haggis, I'm rating this as a vegetarian meal. It's delicious! I used oat groats instead of cut oats, and I know that next time, I'll have to go with cut oats because they will bind better with the other ingredients. Taste, flavor and texture wise, this is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I've had this the last two years for Burns' Supper, and it is pretty good. As long as you stab it and drink your Laphroaig you should be happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by louisiana bourbon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Wow, this is delicious! I'm definitely including this as an option for our next Burns' dinner. I found I needed to add more water as the oats were cooking. I served it with packaged gravy. Scotch would also be good. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
This is a really good vegetarian option. Served it with the traditional neeps(turnip) and tatties and it was a great success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ita

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Belfast, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
didn't rate this much. didn't taste much like haggis to me - I added a fair bit of pepper for a closer taste. That said it was still good - just not really haggis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krone9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northampton, Northamptonshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
I first had vegetarian haggis at Henderson's Restaurant in Edinburgh. This is not the same, but still very good. I had to add an additional cup of vegetable broth before adding the egg, as it was too dry. I also added an additional egg which helped it stick together. I left out the kidney beans and substituted 6 T. ground walnuts for the peanuts and hazelnuts. For mixed spice I used a combination of allspice, mace, cinnamon, nutmeg, and cloves. My vegetarian son gave it a definite thumbs up. I will definatly makes this again. Good and healthy and sticks to your ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-19 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Meatless Meatballs

You really can make satisfying meatballs without the meat. See how it’s done!

How to Plan a Meatless Monday

Keep flavor and variety--and your favorite dishes--while cutting out meat.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States