Vegetarian Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
I have never made gravy before and this is DELICIOUS!! :) A must try. I am not a vegetarian...it doesn't taste any different from "regular" gravy. Quick, easy and oh so tasty. As for consistency it was a little thick so I just kept adding vegetable broth...it's perfect. Thank you so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Excellent! Don't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
Really good, but wayyy too salty. I am going to halve the soy sauce next time and not add any extra salt. I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil, low sodium soy sauce, and omitted the sage since I didn't have any. Besides the overpowering saltiness, this recipe was really easy to make and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
This was great and my meat eaters didn't even notice it was vegetarian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
It's gravy, baby. This gravy is off-the-charts good. Packed with so much flavor, Flava Flav would be jelly. This beats the socks off anyyy non-veg gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kayt Krepcho

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Homestead, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
I added crumbled tofu (frozen, then thawed/pressed and crumbled up) to make a faux meaty gravy. Came out very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
for a longtime vegetarian it was a treat to have such delicious gravy again.. i made this recipe with a few changes - instead of yeast i used some cornstarch, and instead of sage i used basil. i also didn't use nearly as much salt as requested, and i think next time i will cut back a wee bit on the soy sauce. it was slightly too salty for me. but it was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
This gravy was AMAZING. Perfect vegan alternative, rich and delicious tasting. Like most people though, I found it a little too thick but if you just add some more water to it you are good to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
AWESOME recipe. I added some seitan chorizo to make it chunkier (I was making biscuits and gravy), but it wasn't necessary. I used a bit less salt because my broth was salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
I had tried to make vegetarian gravy twice before this - once from scratch (a lot of effort for an ok gravy) and then another time from a packet (it never thickened). I decided that this recipe would be my final attempt at veggie gravy, before giving up. Wow! This is absolutely fantastic! Sooooo quick and easy to make! We had it with Quorn mince and it was just perfect. My boyfriend is not vegetarian and he really enjoyed it too. I left out the nutritional yeast (not really sure if this is any different to 'normal' yeast?) and the sage, as I didn't have any. I'd agree that it needs more of the broth, but other than that, this is absolutely spot-on. I'm so glad I gave veggie gravy a final try with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 278) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Vegetarian Gravy

Learn the tricks to making savory gravy using only vegetable fats.

How to Make Turkey Gravy

See how to make the perfect turkey gravy.

Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

See how to prepare simple make-ahead turkey gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States