Vegetarian Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
It was fantastic! I used chickpea flour instead of white flour and used Bragg's amino acid instead of soy sauce. After cooking the gravy I blended it for a smooth silky texture. The meat eaters in the family had no idea it was vegetarian and kept pouring more and more on their turkey and mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Too garlicky the first time; we also added extra broth and it was still quite thick. Next time, we'll do less garlic, even more broth. Great starter though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
Alright, so I skipped the yeast and used turkey drippings instead of vegetable broth (I know, not vegan, but I'm not vegan- just looking for a great gravy)and this has to be my favorite gravy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by araquiel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CDCooks
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Very good veg gravy. I did add another cup of broth to thin it a bit and I like my gravy smooth, so I used a stick blender to process the entire batch and it turned out great. Will definitely be making it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This recipe is awesome!!! I didn't use 1/2 cup of oil because I am the only one eating this, so I decreased the oil, flour and the veggie broth and added chopped fresh sage, only because I love it, and I used everything else and it was fantastic. Put in a bag of meatless meatballs and this is what I will be taking to Christmas dinner for me - the others can eat their turkey. Love, love, love it. Thank you for a very fantabulous recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Best veggie gravy I have tried so far... And I usually try a new one every thanksgiving! I think my yearly search is over. Didn't need any additional salt in my opinion. I used Better Than Bullion vegetarian beef flavor to make the broth. Came out darker than the photo, but I would recommend it if you are looking for something very savory. Also substituted butter for the oil, per recommendations, and that too worked beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by purplevegie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
This was great! Flavorful and very comparable to the classic gravy I remember from my meat-eating past. I lightly sauteed a whole onion (I really like onions) and garlic, and then pureed it in the blender with the remaining ingredients, minus flour. Then I heated the mixture on the stove in a saucepan and added the flour last. A 1/2 cup makes a super thick gravy. I also subbed sage for poultry seasoning and nixed the nutritional yeast, but only because I didn't have any. It turned out fabulously, and my dad said, "wow that's almost better than mine..."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I made it tonight for our first vegan Thanksgiving and it was delicious!! I think I overcooked it because by the time dinner was ready it was pretty thick and not pourable. This is the only gravy recipe I'll ever make! Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I wow'd some meat-eaters with this one! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
This gravy is great! HOWEVER, I couldn't find nutritional yeast at the store so I just bought active dry yeast. The gravy turned out super thick so I added a cup of water and then I realized I should have used milk. It was still thick so I added a half of cup of milk also. I didn't want to add extra oil because of the fat. I ended up with lots more gravy and it was still thick. It tasted great! My kids love it too. I would add 1 1/2 cups of milk or do what I did so it isn't so thick. Much better than I expected and tons better than the last vegetarian gravy I tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ltomczak

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vegetarian Gravy

Learn the tricks to making savory gravy using only vegetable fats.

How to Make Turkey Gravy

See how to make the perfect turkey gravy.

Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

See how to prepare simple make-ahead turkey gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States